#SummerWithCreepy TBR

Hey guys! I’m so excited about this holidays because there’s so much time for me to read! And I want to read a lot this summer …

I’m hoping my grades will be good enough, so that I won’t need to attend the 2nd phase of exams. And I’m going to have a german test in July, because I have those lessons outside school, so I’ll have to study a bit, but I can deal with it. Besides it, I’ll spend my time reading!!

And I had a couple of books that I wanted to include in my summer TBR, but I ended up joining a summer marathon. This one is hosted by Vasco, from creepysantos on Youtube, and the categories are all in portuguese, so I’ll try to kind of translate them for you.

1 – A book that reminds you of Summer

I didn’t have any book for this on my bookshelf, so I asked my best friend for help and she told me to read “Sempre do teu lado” (in english it would be something like ‘Always by your side’) by Maria Teresa Maia Gonzalez. I’ve only read one book of hers, but I loved it, and I’m pretty happy about reading one more! According to my friend, this book talks about a friendship between a 12-year-old boy and his dog, and that it reminds her of summer due to the happiness in it.

UPDATE

Change of plans! My best friend doesn’t have this book with her, so instead I’ll be reading “Percy Jackson & the Last Olympian” – because, aparently it takes place in the summer!

22027227

 

2 – A book with a blue cover

I recently got in the mail “The Casual Vacancy” by J.K. Rowling and of course I’d find a way to include it here.

51v1x60arhl-_sx316_bo1204203200_

3 – A Romance or an Erotic book

I’m not sure if my choice fits the category, but I chose “Pessoas como Nós” (in english, something like ‘People like us’) by Margarida Rebelo Pinto. This author was quite famous a few years ago, and I wanted to know why, but then I read a lot of bad reviews about this book and I suddendly started to leave it behind. That needs to change! I’m sick of seeing the book on my shelf, so I need to read it and decide if I like it or not – if the answer is no, I can actually get rid of it!

232489241

4 – A book from a national author

Hello there! Portuguese reader right here! So I had to choose the only book from a portuguese author that I have left on my TBR-list and that is “História do Cerco de Lisboa” (I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO TRANSLATE THIS, maybe ‘History of Lisbon’s siege’ ??? ) by José Saramago. Actually, I have to read another of his books to school, but I haven’t bought it yet. I’ll probably leave that task for September, to be honest.

22845399

5 – A book that’s been on your TBR for too long

“Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass”! I got this book back in January and haven’t read it yet. How?? I know that I’ve had “The Bane Chronicles” unread on my shelf for more than a year, but that’s because I’m waiting until I read “The Infernal Devices”. I have no excuse for this one!!

alice

6 – The first book of a trilogy/series

Unfortunately, I won’t participate in this category. I forgot to mention that we’re supposed to read one book a week, and in this week (from 30th July to 5th August) I won’t be in Portugal.

7 – A book that has / will have a movie

This challenge goes from 6th August to 12th August and since I come back in the 10th, I decided to choose a small book. I ordered “Fantastic Beasts and where to find them” and it came in the mail yesterday!!

6351469

8 – Fantasy / Dystopia 

Another book that I’m pretty excited to read: “A Thousand Nights” by E.K. Johnston.

25244111

9 – A book from an international author

I’m going to be totally honest with you right now: I’m just doing this marathon because it’s the only way I can actually get motivated to finish all the books on my TBR (and they’re not that many)!

And we have again J.K. Rowling, “The Tales of Beedle the Bard”.

3950967

10 – A book you want to read right now

Obviously, I’ll only pick a book for this category when the time comes.

11 – Finish a book you already started

Well, I can’t say this for sure, but I think that I’ll probably be reading “Memorial do Convento” by José Saramago (remember the book I have to read for school? yeah, that one).

And this is all for my #SummerWithCreepy TBR! If you want to join the marathon, click here to access the facebook group where we’ll be talking about (or at least I think we’ll be talking about) the books we read (I need to advise you that it’s all in portuguese, so if you want to join, get ready to learn a new language! 😀 )

I also want to write a new post where I talk about more books I want to read this summer, so I guess I’ll see you soon!

1

 

 

 

One thought on “#SummerWithCreepy TBR

Leave a Reply

