BOOK REVIEW | The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

Happy Saturday for all of you out there! I seem very happy, and well, the sun is shining, birds are singing but I’m a total mess because I finished The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan.

21841762

Title: “O Herói Desaparecido” (in english, “The Lost Hero”)

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Planeta

Number of Pages: 391

Language: Portuguese

Synopsis (GoodReads):

“Jason has a problem.
He doesn’t remember anything before waking up in a bus full of kids on a field trip. Apparently he has a girlfriend named Piper, and a best friend named Leo. They’re all students at a boarding school for “bad kids.” What did Jason do to end up here? And where is here, exactly?

Piper has a secret.
Her father has been missing for three days, ever since she had that terrifying nightmare about his being in trouble. Piper doesn’t understand her dream, or why her boyfriend suddenly doesn’t recognize her. When a freak storm hits during the school trip, unleashing strange creatures and whisking her, Jason, and Leo away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood, she has a feeling she’s going to find out.

Leo has a way with tools.
When he sees his cabin at Camp Half-Blood, filled with power tools and machine parts, he feels right at home. But there’s weird stuff, too—like the curse everyone keeps talking about, and some camper who’s gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist that each of them—including Leo—is related to a god. Does this have anything to do with Jason’s amnesia, or the fact that Leo keeps seeing ghosts?”

My Opinion 

(My review is spoiler-free only for The Lost Hero, there may be spoilers about Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian)

After I read Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian (which I gave 5/5 stars, but couldn’t write a proper review because of the feels), I felt I needed more, so I picked up the first book in the next series called The Heroes of Olympus, and that is The Lost Hero – another amazing work from Rick Riordan!

The Lost Hero takes place a few months after the episodes in Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian – it is winter now, a few days before the Winter Solstice.

As soon as I started reading, I found out that this book wasn’t going to be what I expected. Who could say that things could change so much in four months?

We still have our beloved old characters – kinda – but there’s new material and that means new adventures! If you remember the end of PJ & the Last Olympian, you know about Rachel’s prophecy and yes, it is related to this new series.

First of all, we have new characters. The Gods kept their promise and new demigods started to arrive to Camp Half-Blood. Jason, Piper and Leo are rescued as well and this isn’t a spoiler, because them being the protagonists, it’s obvious they’re about to be three out of the seven from the prophecy. And they have their first mission together.

I consider Jason, Leo and Piper as the typical Rick Riordan characters. They’re all smart, brave and sassy (very sarcastics sometimes, there’s a scene between Leo and his father that I couldn’t stop laughing while reading). They all developed throughout the book – as demigods, they didn’t have a very easy childhood, but they found the strengh to survive their first mission by trusting in each others, and they overcome their fears. But of course that this didn’t happen from day to night, because they all had their secrets and Jason’s amnesia didn’t help at all. Actually, in this first book, we don’t get all the answers we want – and that’s why I’m very excited to read The Son of Neptune!

The Lost Hero divides itself into two adventures – the main adventure, with Jason, Leo and Piper; and a second one, with Annabeth and Thalia (we only follow the main adventure, but sometimes, their paths cross, and we have updates about what’s going on). In this book, we have more monsters, more enemies, more troubles with Gods, more secrets, more questions and less answers! The damn man knows how to write.

And this book is soooooo long. I never thought it would end where it did – because, judging by the number of pages, I thought it was going to advance a bit further. But, let’s face it, Rick Riordan’s books are very … how can I say it … I don’t want to use the expression slow paced, because they’re not boring at all, they’re very descriptive, yes, but he describes the monsters and the battles, and that’s pretty cool, so I don’t feel like it is slow paced, but in 391 pages, we had four days or something like that.

And that end! I repeat: Rick Riordan knows how to write! The end worked like a bridge, a connection between the first and second books, we had a conclusion to this adventure, and a start for the next one – I couldn’t ask for more!

I really really loved this book, I actually had to make me put it down for a couple of hours because I didn’t want to finish it until the 1st of July (mostly because I had already posted my June wrap up and didn’t feel like editing it 😛 ) and I didn’t see that last conclusion coming, although I figured out some details in the beginning of the book, about Jason’s life (related to the amnesia).

For all that, my rating is nothing less than …

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha

Have you read this book? If yes, did you enjoy it? 

1

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW | The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

    • Marta says:

      Thank you ☺ Rick Riordan’s books are some of my favorites!! They only get better! But if you want to read The Heroes of Olympus, you should read Percy Jackson and the Olympians first … 😕

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

