“HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD” Worldwide Premiere at LELLO Bookstore + Tiny REVIEW (SPOILER FREE) by Inês Magalhães

Hey guys! As you may or may not know, there was a premiere event for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in my city, at Lello Bookstore, and although it was impossible for me to go, my best friend went, and she agreed to tell me all the details about it to share with you. Thanks Ness!

The text below belongs only to her (except for the gifs, I couldn’t resist 😂), and the pics belong to the online newspapers Público, Observador and Notícias ao Minuto (and some of them belong to Ness 🙂 ).

Nine years after the last book of the Harry Potter series, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”, the Potterheads can cry of joy because “Harry Potter and The Cursed Child” finally arrived! The eighth book was written by John Tiffany and Jack Thorne (the brilliant minds behind the play with the same name), with a little help from our beloved J.K. Rowling. “Harry Potter and The Cursed Child” takes place where the epilogue of “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows” left us: nineteen years later, after Harry defeated Lord Voldemort, with all the characters that we know so well, preparing their kids, the new generation, for another school year at Hogwarts *sobs* . But this time, things are going to become a little more… darker. But that’s another story. I’m just here to talk about the worldwide events of the release of the book. The 31st July is a very special date: it’s J.K Rowling and Harry Potter’s birthday, and maybe because of that, it was chosen to be the release date of the eight story. Bookstores around the world were the meeting point of many Potterheads, the place where they would wait to have the book, to share their thoughts about the new story or simply to have a good time! In London, it was a busy night, with the release party and the play’s premiere at Palace Theatre. And it was no different here in Portugal, with a MEGA event at Lello & Irmão bookstore, one of the most famous spots in Oporto and J.K. Rowling’s inspiration for creating Florish & Blott’s. Although the show only started at 10pm, when I got to Lello there was already an ENORMOUS crowd! I could barely see the front of the bookstore and that uncomfortable situation continued even when the show started. That was the reason I didn’t stay there for so long and only got back to the spot when it was near midnight to watch the book’s release. From what I could see from pictures online, some characters, more precisely, Draco Malfoy, Dumbledore, Trelawney and Hagrid, interacted with the crowd (sorry, I mean the ones WHO COULD ACTUALLY SEE THE DAMN SHOW). And there was even a potion’s session but it wasn’t very “wow”. I think the only two things that made the night was the owl (which I couldn’t see, nice) and the “wizard’s battles” aka random guys dressed in Hogwarts robes doing rappel in the bookstore in an attempt to fly (the only thing I could see, before leaving the place).

*sarcastic clapping*

large (5)

In my opinion, the event could be better organized. They didn’t even bother to built a freaking stage so that the people who weren’t in the first four rows, could see.

http-%2F%2Fmashable.com%2Fwp-content%2Fgallery%2Fharry-potter-lip-dub-gifs%2Ftumblr_nolkhm7g5t1sfmnojo1_500

And one more thing: we are talking about Harry Potter. A character that filled our days with magic, and taught us so much. So I think that, even the ones who didn’t bought the book (like me, who pre-ordered it online), should have had the opportunity to enter the bookstore and enjoy the same privileges as the ones who bought the book (yes, because the event lasted until 2am, but only to the ones who bought Cursed Child). But still, it was a pleasant and let’s say… magical night.

MY tiny REVIEW (SPOILER FREE): In my honest opinion, I was a bit afraid. I heard a lot about the book, good and bad, but since the only opinion that mattered was mine, I decided to forget my fears and read the book. I have to admit it that the whole book felt like a big fanfiction, to me. Some parts were so “WHAT THE HECK” and “Oh oh, he did not just do that, please tell me HE DID NOT JUST DO THAT”. Yeah, I didn’t felt comfortable with some parts of the book but I didn’t expect something like the other seven books, since the story was written ONLY by Jack Thorne and John Tiffany (J.K. Rowling only gave some ideas and changed some bits). But still, I loved the book (despite of all the weird stuff). I loved the plot, I loved the characters, especially Scorpius. I swear I never felt so related to a character like this before. Scorpius is geeky, lame (just like me) and loves to do some puns (some really bad, just like I do). About the book’s format: I was okay with that. I already had an experience when I was younger with reading scripts, so it didn’t bother me, at all. When I finished the book I could only think how much I wanted to see the play. To see how the spells and the potions were made, to see the scenes that I read live, in a stage. I really hope that the play can come to other countries or that I can get enough money to pay for the ticket and the trip.

My rating: 5/5 stars

Thank you once again Ness for helping me! Now go show her some love and follow her on social media 😛

Instagram | Twitter

Have you already read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child? If yes, what are you thoughts about it? Without spoilers please, beacause unfortunately I haven’t bought it yet.

And if you haven’t bought it yet either, you can do it through:

Book Depository | Wook 

1

3 thoughts on ““HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD” Worldwide Premiere at LELLO Bookstore + Tiny REVIEW (SPOILER FREE) by Inês Magalhães

  1. The Girl Who Reads Books says:

    Eu adorei o livro.
    E concordo na parte em que foi injusto não terem deixado entrar na livraria aqueles que não compraram o livro! Tal como eu, fui ao lançamento na Fnac do Colombo e só quem comprasse, é que poderia comprar o livro. Ou seja, eu teria que comprar algo, que nem sei o que é? Algumas coisas foram mal organizadas, tanto na Lello, como na Fnac Colombo (nesta, havia eventos com isto e com aquilo, e no fim só houve uma conversa chata com um grupo de fãs e sei lá o quê).

    Mas o livro é mesmo bom, apesar de alguns pormenores e não resisti a dar-lhe 5 estrelas!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Eu mal posso esperar por ter o livro nas minhas mãos! 😍😍
      E fiquei bastante triste por não ir ao evento na Lello, mas acho que acabei por não perder nada :/ Estava tanta gente lá que mesmo sendo alta, não ia ver nada 😂 E concordo convosco, foi muito mal organizado. A Inês já tinha comprado o livro pela Wook, e não o ia comprar outra vez, nem que seja para entrar na outra metade do evento, certo?
      Espero que os lançamentos noutros sítios tenham corrido melhor, e que para a próxima aqui em Portugal façam um trabalho mais direitinho 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Wrap Up | August

Leave a Reply

