BOOK REVIEW | Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll

And I finally read a classic! I’ve had this book on my shelves since January, and it was time to read it. I remember reading a portuguese edition for this story when I was younger, and loving it, so I thought that reading it in english wasn’t going to be a problem. I was wrong (not completely, though, because it wasn’t that hard, but I had some difficulty in understanding some parts) but I still loved it.

alice

Title: “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

and Through the Looking Glass”

Author: Lewis Carroll

Publisher: Penguin Classics

Number of Pages: 357

Language: English

Synopsis (Goodreads):

‘Contrariwise … if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be but as it isn’t, it ain’t. That’s logic.’

‘I had sent my heroine straight down a rabbit-hole … without the least idea what was to happen afterwards,’ wrote Lewis Carroll, describing how Alice was conjured up one ‘golden afternoon’ in 1862 to entertain his child-friend Alice Liddell. His dream worlds of nonsensical Wonderland and the back-to-front Looking-Glass kingdom depict order turned upside-down: a baby turns into a pig, time is abandoned at a disordered tea-party and a chaotic game of chess makes a seven-year-old girl a Queen. But amongst the anarchic humour and sparkling word play, puzzles and riddles, are poignant moments of nostalgia for lost childhood. Original and experimental, the Alice books give readers a window on both child and adult worlds.

This is the most comprehensively annotated edition available and includes the manuscript version of Alice’s Adventures Under Ground and Carroll’s 1887 essay ‘”Alice” on the Stage’.

My Opinion (spoiler-free):

First things first, like I mentioned before, this was a story I used to read as a child. Therefore, I thought I wouldn’t have any problem with it. I did have problems with it, not in understanding what was happening or characters or world building, but with specific words I didn’t understand, as my main language isn’t english. However, this didn’t ruin my reading – I just had to pay more attention, especially when there was poems.

About the story itself, I just thought it was more weird than what I remembered. I’ve only read Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland before; so Through the Looking Glass was completely new to me. And it revealed to be a good surprise! I wasn’t expecting this level of weirdness, but I quickly got used to it! Β (does this mean I’m a weird person? πŸ˜‚)

Both stories end up abruptly, which made me think the author was just too tired to carry on; but they’re full of characters that made me laugh and smile, and I spent a good time reading it. So I can say that my rating only depends on how good my reading time was, because I don’t have much more to say about the book – it was good, it felt like my childhood again and I enjoyed it!

This edition from Penguin Classics also includes a thing called Alice’s Adventures in Underground (but when I started reading it, it seemed just the same as Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, so I stopped – if you’ve read it and you know what it is, please comment down below), “”Alice” on the Stage” and tons of notes about Lewis Carroll’s life and works and notes about the book and all that, but I didn’t read them (I wasn’t very interested in it at the time, but maybe someday, if I re-read the book).

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha e meia

I’m really really sorry this review is so short and poor, but I don’t know what should I add without giving any spoilers. I’m planning on watching the movie adaptation for Through the Looking Glass soon, and if I write a review for it, I’ll talk more about the book there.

You can buy this book through

Book Depository | WookΒ 

1

7 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW | Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll

Leave a Reply

