BOOK REVIEW | Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I think we have a problem. I loved Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and I barely know what to say about books I love – it’s way easier to say what I don’t like! So let’s see what will come out of here 😂

17162156

Title: “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”

Author: Ransom Riggs

Publisher: Quirk

Number of Pages: 352

Language: English

Synopsis (Goodreads):

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

My Opinion (spoiler-free):

I loved loved loved this book! First things first, a lot of people think that this is a horror book, but believe me, if it was, I would NEVER pick it up. 😂 Okay, the story might be a little creepy, but it won’t give you nightmares …

And prepare yourself for quickly judgement of characters, because the bad guy was totally predictable!

Buuuut ….

The worldbuilding is something spetacular, the writing very realistic, especially  in dialogs, and the characters very … well, peculiar? 😂 Oh, and I would never ever be friends with Enoch … that boy freaks me out!

The whole concept of pictures was one of the reasons that interested me in reading it, but don’t worry, because they don’t make the entire book! Actually, one of my friends asked me about it, because she was worried about the book having more pictures rather than text, but each chapter has more or less five pictures – sometimes it has more, sometimes even less (and isn’t it great that the author added one of his hobbys into the writing?).

The plot was also awesome! But an advise: don’t expect to get to know much about the world and the peculiar children in this first book, or otherwise you’ll be very disappointed. Luckily, I already knew this before I started! I enjoyed the book and now I’m very excited to read the next one, and very excited to watch the movie as well (although I know they changed a lot of things).

when-someone-wants-to-read-something-youve-written

Oh, and this was totally me while reading the last chapters (and realising there weren’t enough pages for everything I needed to happen 😂)

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha

Have you read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children? What did you think about it? 🙂

You can also buy this book through

Book Depository | Wook

1

6 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW | Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. TwinBookmarks says:

    We watched the film and we greatly enjoyed it. We had already heard of Miss Peregrine’s home for peculiar children before the film and had wanted to read it before watching the film but did not have the time – so we watched it instead (we know, It’s shameful)! Hopefully we get to read it soon 🤞

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I’ve been wanting to watch the movie for so loooong. I’ve heard the movie covers the entire trilogy, though, that’s why I haven’t done it yet. I don’t want any spoilers, and I really need to think about continuing the series. :/
      I’m so glad you liked the movie! I hope you enjoy the book as well ^^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

