August Wrap Up

August was definitely my best reading month so far this year, and although I want to try to beat my now-record of ten books, I don’t think I’m capable of, as school is starting very very soonย ๐Ÿ˜ญ


BOOK HAULย 

10150873

I’ve already read The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks two or three years ago – I borrowed it from my aunt. And although I’m not his biggest fan, I completely loved this book! And recently my best friend told me she was getting rid of some of her books and asked me if I wanted anything, and I saw this in her pile, and I couldn’t let it go, so I’m giving this baby a new home! โค I also ordered Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and Pride and Prejudice this month, but it will take a while until they arrive, so I’ll probably include them in the September Haul.


WRAP UPย 

I read so. many. books. this month, wow!

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll. This was my first time reading a classic (or kind of re-reading, since this was one of my favorite books as a kid, but I read it in portuguese), and I loved it! 4.5/5 stars ยป full review here.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. I started august in the perfect way! I loved this book and I’m more than excited for the movie, even if they changed some important stuff. I had some trouble trying to figure out what to say in my review, and because of that it turned out very small. 5/5 stars ยป full review here.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J. K. Rowling. A pretty small book that I read really fast, but that I loved. I didn’t write any review for it, but I rated it with 5/5 stars on goodreads. Same with The Tales of Beedle the Bard and Quidditch Through the Ages.

In between Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and the next book, I tried to read History of the Siege of Lisbon by Josรฉ Saramago, but I ended up dnf-ing it. His writing style is just not for me, and I couldn’t stand the book anymore when I had so many wonderful books on my tbr pile. Now I’m worried because I need to read another book of his for school …

A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston. I adored this book! It ended up not being what I wanted, and that’s why it doesn’t take the five stars, but I still liked it. 4/5 stars ยป full review here.

A Wizard’s Forge by A. M. Justice and Wrecked by Maria Padian, both from Netgalley. I really liked both of them and can’t wait to share my full reviews! I’m really excited about what the next book will bring us, in the case of A Wizard’s Forge. And although Richard got on my nerves sometimes, and I didn’t like the end of Wrecked at all, I’d still recommend it. A Wizard’s Forge – 4/5 stars – full review ยป 17/09. Wrecked – 4/5 stars – full review ยป 01/10.

Broken – Despedaรงada by Tรขnia Dias. It’s always a pleasure to read good books written by portuguese authors, and that’s what happened with Broken. I already talked about this book here, so make sure you check it out. 3.5/5 stars ยป full review to come soon.

Weregirl by C. D. Bell, also from Netgalley, is amazing, and I want to share my thoughts with all of you, but I still need to wait a little longer! 4/5 stars ยป full review to come soon.


MOVIES & TV SHOWSย 

Nothing particularly new around here. I went to Brazil in the end of July and only came back on August 11th, so I had a lot to catch up, especially with tv shows. I watched Beauty and the Beast and Pretty Little Liars. I also watched A Very Potter Sequel + A Very Potter Senior Year and The Lizzie Bennet Diaries (episode 98!!!! ๐Ÿ˜).


How was your month? ๐Ÿ˜€

1

 

 

6 thoughts on “August Wrap Up

      • Marta says:

        Oh, okay then ๐Ÿ˜‚ Thank you!! Well, my only “doubts” are around Vic, her personality, her decisions, her changes … I think I can’t understand it because what happened to her never happened to me, and I’d like to know more about what happened right after she was kidnapped. So I don’t have exactly questions, but just random thoughts about Vic and what exactly made her change so much and take the decisions she took.

        Liked by 1 person

      • amjusticewrites says:

        Fair enough. ๐Ÿ˜‰ You’re not the only reader to ask some of those questions, and I recently addressed them on my blog (see my Sept 8 post). Vic does continue to grow and “heal” in the second book. You may also be interested to know that Bethniel plays a much bigger role in the action of book 2. Thanks again so much for reading the book and reviewing it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        Just read it! ๐Ÿ™‚ And I get that point of view, hopefully Vic will start overcoming her problems now … (YAY MORE BETHNIEL! hahaha) No problem at all, it was my pleasure ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

