BOOK REVIEW | The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

OH MY GODS! OH! MY! GODS!!

First things first, I just want to say that I want to curse Ness for spoiling the end for me, I hate her and I won’t ever forgive her 😂

I also hate Rick Riordan for creating such awesome books that always leave me wanting more!

253092221

Title: A Marca de Atena (The Mark of Athena, in english)

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Planeta

Number of Pages: 408

Language: Portuguese

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Annabeth returns in the third installment of the biggest series yet from Rick Riordan, author of the #1 New York Times best-selling Heroes of Olympus, Kane Chronicles, and Percy Jackson andamp; the Olympians series.
In The Son of Neptune, Percy, Hazel, and Frank met in Camp Jupiter, the Roman equivalent of Camp Halfblood, and traveled to the land beyond the gods to complete a dangerous quest. The third book in the Heroes of Olympus series will unite them with Jason, Piper, and Leo. But they number only six–who will complete the Prophecy of Seven?
The Greek and Roman demigods will have to cooperate in order to defeat the giants released by the Earth Mother, Gaea. Then they will have to sail together to the ancient land–Greece itself–to find the Doors of Death. What exactly are the Doors of Death? Much of the prophecy remains a mystery…
With old friends and new friends joining forces, a marvelous ship, fearsome foes, and an exotic setting, The Mark of Athena promises to be another unforgettable adventure by master storyteller Rick Riordan.

My opinion:

(my review is spoiler free only for The Mark of Athena, there are spoilers of The Lost Hero and The Son of Neptune)

The Mark of Athena takes place immediatly after the events in The Son of Neptune, which is great, because I was dying to see them all meeting! And the book started just messing my feelings: I loved to see Percabeth again, I seriously don’t understand how did I manage to go through two books without those two together! On the other hand, however, I didn’t feel so happy for Reyna: despite everything, she’s an incredible person, and she deserves to be fully happy.

The first chapters take place at the Camp Jupiter, and Gods!, I missed Annabeth talking about architecture, we can cleary see she loved the place, and we get a new perspective about the camp. We also get to see more of Octavian, which remains unchanged, and still a complete idiot. I just wish he would vanish!

And they’re currently at the camp when something happens (can’t say what because spoiler) and the seven of the prophecy must leave. And so the journey begins! 😀

In The Mark of Athena, we get a new look of the characters. We have Percy, Annabeth, Piper, Jason, Leo, Hazel and Frank. We already know them, because we’ve read the previous books, but half of them haven’t met the other half, which means that discovery about each others happens all over again. They finally understand how hard sometimes it can be when greeks and romans work together! Most of the times, they’re worried about not being good enough, instead of working as a team. Percy and Jason, for example, being the sons of Posidon and Zeus, had a couple of arguments. The tension between Hazel, Frank and Leo was noticeable as well, especially because Hazel thought Leo was Sammy at the end of The Son of Neptune, and that brought some complications.

This is probably my favorite book in The Heroes of Olympus series so far. Reason no. 1: they’re all finally together. Reason no. 2: PERCABETH! Reason no. 3: it focus a lot on Annabeth, and she’s one of my favorite characters! Her intelligence always amazes me, and she was very brave throughout her journey alone.

Finally, the end. That end destroyed me! It hurts me because I can’t say anything without giving you any spoilers, so I’ll keep it for myself.

19655971

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha

You can buy The Mark of Athena through

Wook (ebook) | Book Depository 


I need to talk about that end 😭

gp_logo3

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW | The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

