BOOK REVIEW | Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

I was avoiding reading reviews for this book for so long because I didn’t want to get spoiled, and yet it still happened. I saw them on goodreads and wordpress, mostly, but the worst part was that it was my best friend who gave me most of the spoilers! So if you’re wondering whether or not to read this book, I’d only say this: if you love Harry Potter, go for it, and most important, avoid social media as much as you can until you do it. I’ll keep my review spoiler-free, and I’ll only mention things I’d have liked to know before I read this / things I already knew before I read this and that prepared me.

29056083

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Author: J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Publisher: Little Brown UK

Number of pages: 343 pages

Language: English

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

My Opinion (spoiler-free):

I’ve been seeing a lot of people wondering whether or not to read this book, because the reviews and opinions are all very mixed, and I was one of those people a few weeks ago, but now I’m very glad I read this book! It took me one day to finish, so even if you don’t belong into the group of people that liked / loved this book, I don’t think you’ll find your time wasted. I’m also relieved that I really really loved this book – I was so afraid I wouldn’t! And instead of saying just what I thought about it, I decided to change my review a little bit and give you some advice along with it, if you’re thinking about reading it any time soon.

  1. Don’t create such high expectations. The best way to jump into this book is definitely with no expectations at all! People seemed so disappointed when this book couldn’t reach their standards for the other Harry Potter books; well, that’s normal, actually: this is a script. It is meant for a play. Don’t expect long descriptions, because although there’s enough, there’s not a lot. Same goes for characters; I already knew a lot of my favorite characters and people I just wanted to see here wouldn’t show up, and that prepared me in order not to get too angry with it. But it pissed me off when characters that I knew would show up, didn’t stay for long.
  2. The plot isn’t anything new. I have no idea if by now you’ve been already spoiled about the main plot of this book, but let’s pretend you’ve been lucky and haven’t heard a thing: instead of creating a whole new adventure for the new generation, we’re just dragging problems of the past, and I’ve read somewhere on goodreads that the authors did this because they knew it would sell. That’s totally true, yes, we’ll visit scenes that we’re already familiar with … this is kind of related to the “don’t create high expectations” as well.
  3. Don’t expect much from the characters. Like I mentioned before, a lot of beloved characters don’t even appear on this book, but the ones that remained didn’t felt like them sometimes. I haven’t read any of the Harry Potter books in english, so maybe that’s why I’m not the best person to compare them to The Curse Child – a lot of people had very issues with Ron, while I didn’t care much about those details, but I did have some problems accepting some of their lines. I think the best character adaptation from the original books was Draco, and he and Scorpius were my favorite characters (the Malfoys saving this book! 😛 ).
  4. This will feel like fanfiction. Especially part 1. I even remember reading fanfiction where some things that happened on The Cursed Child, also happened there!
  5. And, last advice, prepare yourself for all the ridiculous things that could happen! Seriously, I’m still on denial. I refuse to accept some of those things as canon.

The book has its flaws, but as I’m trying to keep a spoiler-free review here, I’ll head you to Emma’s review on goodreads, because I think it represents my thoughts perfectly! The spoilers are all hidden, in case you haven’t read it, but as always, read only at your own risk 😉

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child  doesn’t deserve the rate I intend to give it, because now that I’m thinking about it, I have to admit it has too many problems, and if it was any other book, I’d probably give it 3 stars. I really wanted a book about another year at Hogwarts, you know, going to classes, Quidditch, Christmas, Hogsmeade and all, but everything was so rushed in the beggining. But it was another Harry Potter book (the lamest excuse ever), and it made me so happy while reading it. I was always smiling and it felt good, I couldn’t put the book down! I can’t give even think about not giving it 5 stars.

15994737

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha

Wook | Book Depository


 

What about you?

Have you read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child? Or are you planning on reading it?

What are your thoughts? 😀

gp_logo3

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW | Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

