BOOK REVIEW | Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea

Weyhey people! I’m still not used to my new school schedule. This year I no longer have classes on Tuesday mornings, which is strange to me, but I decided that I can fill my time with other activities. And that’s why I’ve brought you this review from a book that I read back in July 😛

28503853

Title: Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea

Author: Ben Clanton

Publisher: Penguin Random House Canada

Number of pages: 64

Language: English

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Narwhal is a happy-go-lucky narwhal. Jelly is a no-nonsense jellyfish. The two might not have a lot in common, but they do they love waffles, parties and adventures. Join Narwhal and Jelly as they discover the whole wide ocean together.
A wonderfully silly early graphic novel series featuring three stories. In the first, Jelly learns that Narwhal is a really good friend. Then Narwhal and Jelly form their own pod of awesomeness with their ocean friends. And finally, Narwhal and Jelly read the best book ever — even though it doesn’t have any words…or pictures!
Ben Clanton showcases the joys of friendship, the benefits of working together and the power of imagination in the delightful Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea.

I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

My Opinion: 

This was my first time reading a graphic novel and I think I picked the right one to start! It is meant for children, I know, but it was the perfect read for me to have at 1.30 am. I couldn’t sleep, so I decided to give it a go.

I finished this book 15 minutes after I started. The english in it was SUPER easy to understand – my 1.30 am brain functions thank the author for that – and the art was super cute (actually, what caught my atention in this book was the art on the cover), which made me flow through the pages and when I noticed, I had finished it.

As you probably read in the synopsis above, this book contains three stories where Narwhal and Jellyfish are the protagonists. In the first story, Narwhal and Jellyfish meet each other for the first time and become friends. But not as easy as that! Jellyfish didn’t believe Narwhal was real, and Narwhal thought that Jellyfish was his imaginary friend – and all that was a bit too silly for me. I’d prefer something more believable and normal, even if I consider it is meant for kids. The second story is about making new friends: Narwhal starts looking for new aquatic animals to join their group, but he didn’t remember to ask Jellyfish if he would like to join him too. I liked this story a bit more because we can atually take something from here: that we shouldn’t take our friends for granted! And the third story was my favorite: here, Narwhal shows Jellyfish his favorite book .. but it has nothing on it, and the two friends start to imagine what could happen. #ImaginationPower 

One thing I didn’t like about this book was the fact that, being so short, it has poor character developement. Narwhal and Jellyfish are pratically the same as they were in the first pages, but I can understand it, because, again, it’s a book meant for children – but I wanted a little more from them!

However, it didn’t fail at all! This kept a silly smile on my face throughout the book, because it has very characteristic language such as Tentacular or For Shark, and the characters were all very cute. Narwhal also has a theme song and I couldn’t get it out of my head! I’m singing it right now! 😂

And my favorite thing about this book was the curiosities that it has! When I was a kid, I remember that I had this book that talked about a visit to a museum and my favorite part was when I read the curiosities about the animals and other things that the museum had. I think that children books should have more interesting facts, so that they can learn something while reading (extra point to this book for that!).

Last, but not least, I would recommend this book to my 6-year-old cousin and other kids between the ages of 3-7 because of the curiosities and the lessons about friendship that this book has.

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha e meia


This book comes out on October 4th!

If you’re interested, you can pre-order it on Book Depository  🙂


gp_logo3

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW | Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea

Leave a Reply

