BOOK REVIEW | Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins

Tuesday might be my new least favorite day of the week because I only have classes on the afternoon, and I never get anything done in the morning or when I get home because I’m sleepy / tired! Fortunately, I didn’t have classes yesterday and I won’t have tomorrow as well, so I can rest for as long as I want, right after I post my review 😂

27384839

Title: Gregor – A Primeira Profecia

(Gregor the Overlander, in english)

Author: Suzanne Collins

Publisher: Editorial Presença

Number of Pages: 256

Language: Portuguese

Synopsis (Goodreads):

This irresistible first novel tells the story of a quiet boy who embarks on a dangerous quest in order to fulfill his destiny — and find his father — in a strange world beneath New York City.

When Gregor falls through a grate in the laundry room of his apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland, where spiders, rats, cockroaches coexist uneasily with humans. This world is on the brink of war, and Gregor’s arrival is no accident. A prophecy foretells that Gregor has a role to play in the Underland’s uncertain future. Gregor wants no part of it — until he realizes it’s the only way to solve the mystery of his father’s disappearance. Reluctantly, Gregor embarks on a dangerous adventure that will change both him and the Underland forever.

My Opinion (spoiler-free):

Well, it wasn’t as good as I’d like it to be, but it’s still good.

It gave me this vibe of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland but also of Rick Riordan’s books because of the humor that the book has (more in the beginning, though), but I kind of expected more from Suzanne Collins (???). I mean, this isn’t anything like The Hunger Games AT ALL, as it is meant for younger readers, but I personally think my ten-year-old brother wouldn’t enjoy this. I also know that I wouldn’t enjoy it if I was younger than fourteen or so. But this might have more to do with  my reading preferences throughout the years rather than the quality of the book itself. I just thought the writing (or the translation, in my case) was too dense for it to be middle grade.

However, the idea and the plot for the book were very good. The worldbuilding was … well, strange. I wouldn’t want to be trapped in the Underland, that’s for sure! There are bats, rats, cockroaches, spiders and all kind of these creatures … BUT THEY’RE HUGE! Like waaay bigger than humans! Humans there are different too; I really liked the idea of Luxa’s eyes being purple, for example. The plot is all about a task, based on a prophecy (see what I meant with “Rick Riordan”?), and they have to find out what happened to Gregor’s father, that disappeared some time ago. What I liked the most was the characters, that seemed realistic. Boots, being a two-year old baby, was afraid of nothing and tought everyone was her friend at the same time that managed to do a big cry, while Gregor was always worried about both his father and his little sister. The book is very focused on their journey and we don’t get to know a lot about how the Underland works, and I hope the next book makes up for it.

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha e meia


You can buy Gregor the Overlander through

Wook | Book Depository 


Have you read this book? What did you think about it? 🙂

gp_logo3

Leave a Reply

