BOOK REVIEW | To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

I’ve already started the second book, so I guess it’s time for me to finally write my review – we don’t want me to spoil anything accidentally! 😂

Also, this was a buddy read with Ness @ Watford Library, so make sure to check out her review! 😀

23574277

Title: A Todos os Rapazes que Amei

(To All the Boy’s I’ve Loved Before, in english)

Author: Jenny Han

Publisher: Topseller

Number of Pages: 271

Language: Portuguese

Synopsis (Goodreads):

“To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.”

My Opinion (spoiler-free):

This book was just what I needed in my life! I read it while I was starting to feel a bit sick, so I couldn’t focus on things very detailed or even fantasy, and because of that this was my perfect choice!

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is adorable, in so many aspects. It’s very family-oriented, which I loved, because we don’t see (or at least I don’t) that a lot of times on YA. I loved Lara Jean’s relationship with her sisters, Margot and Kitty, and her father. Could you believe I only knew Lara Jean had an older sister when I got to the book? In every review I’d read before, Kitty was always mentioned, but no one really talked about Margot! It’s true that Kitty was my favorite Song sister, because she’s adorable, sometimes even seemed more mature than her sisters and she’s a braid expert! I need that kid in my life to braid my hair! 😂 But Margot was important too, she’s the eldest and she was the one keeping that family together! She was seen as a role model, but sometimes she was just annoying, honestly. I mean , she makes her decisions and then gets sad when everyone move on?

My favorite part about this book is how the author included diversity, not just in the main character, but also in tiny other details throughout the book. Seeing their father trying to keep their korean traditions was really inspiring! And Lara Jean’s hobbies, such as baking cakes and collage, were really peculiar, because, again, I don’t see it that much. And I swear that while reading it, I really wanted to learn how to bake cute little cookies like she does – if only I weren’t a mess in the kitchen! 😂

I’m only sad that we don’t get to read all the letters she wrote. I liked what I had the opportunity to read, and I’d like to read more – maybe in the next book, who knows? Also, the main ‘question’ of this book is “who send Lara Jean’s letters?” and that was pretty obvious, I got there easily, but it didn’t bother me that much.

I had a different idea for this book, to be honest. I thought that after her letters being sent, there’d be the same old cliché (love triangle). The book surprised me, yes, but there’s kind of a love triangle – however, I’m happy how things turned out, although I had been already spoiled about the love interest.

I also really liked Peter’s friends and how they treated Lara Jean ❤

Overall, the book is pretty good and I loved it! I wasn’t sure if I should give it 4,5 or 5 stars but it went straight to my favorites-shelf on goodreads! 😀 Now I’m currently reading the second book, P.S. I still love you, I’m 44% in, and I’m liking so far! To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before ended with such a drama that you have no idea, and I needed to pick up the next book immediately!

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha e meia


I’m planning on writing a review for the second book, P.S. I still love you, as soon as I finish it. As it’s going to be a spoiler review (with spoilers for All the Boys I’ve Loved Before only), I want to talk about more scenes and characters from this book 🙂

What about you? Have you read this book?

You can buy it through

Wook | Book Depository 

gp_logo3

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW | To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

