The Blogger Recognition Award

I just think these awards are great to support new bloggers and get to know new people, and I’m extremely grateful someone out there really likes my work and what I’m doing here. Thank you so much Emma @ Corn Reviews Books for nominating me 🙂

bloggerrecognition

THE RULES

  1. Write a post to show your award
  2. Give a brief story of how your blog started
  3. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  4. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  5. Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.


 

WHY I STARTED MY BLOG

Well, there isn’t any exciting story behind my blog! I had joined the book community back in January with my bookstagram account, and I used to share there all my reviews written on goodreads, when I realized I wanted more. My reviews were really short and I wanted to improve them, and then I found Ana’s blog. That gave me the little push I needed! My uncle, who knows how obsessed I am with books, suggested I created a youtube channel, but I’m damn too insecure to do it, so I kept the blog idea only. In June, the book mermaid blog was finally created!

Fun fact: my url was actually thebookmermaid.wordpress.com but then I deleted my account, because I wasn’t sure if I should keep it. Then I regretted my decision and got it back, but WordPress didn’t allow me to use that url anymore 😭

MY ADVISE 

I’ve been blogging for four months and something, so I’m definitely not an expert! In fact, I love to read any post other bloggers write that might help me improve my blogging experience. But there’s already some things I’ve learned that really changed the way I look at all this:

1. Don’t take this too seriously. I’m not the right person to talk about this, because I take everything way too seriously, but blogging isn’t working! If you’re doing what you love, if you’re writing about what you want, you’ll enjoy it more. Plus, it’ll attract people with the same interests as you! So try not to stress so much, not only about your content, but also about posting (scheduling can be your best friend, but sometimes no one really minds if you don’t post for a few days).

2. Talk, talk, talk. Blogs are so much better with friends! You get to know new people all around the world and you can help each other, and talk about everything you love! But friends don’t fall from the sky, so you have to look for them. Search new blogs, follow them and don’t forget to comment often on their posts. That way they’ll know you’re there, they’ll answer you back and they can follow your blog and read your posts!

So these are the two most important advises I can think of. What’s the most important thing you’ve learned since you started blogging? 🙂

 

I NOMINATE

I’m nominating the last 15 bloggers that followed me! 🙂

Jasmine @ How Useful It Is 

Miguel @ The Life & Times of Miguel Olmedo Morell

Mariana @ Fireheart Books 

Esther @ Chapter Adventures 

Catarina @ Nerd e Chique

Anja @ The Very Bookish Me

Ana @ Nerdy Bookworm

Theresa @ The Calico Books

Jessica @ Pore Over Pages

Megan @ Book Slayer Reads 

M @ M Reads Books 

Maggie @ in a reading world

Rosie @ Rosie freckle reads

Inês @ Ms. Carrowl

Louise @ Genie Reads


 

marta2

twitterig

19 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Jasmine says:

    Interesting blog story! That’s great that you decide to stick to blogging. I am shy in front of cameras so I can’t do YouTube either hehe. I like your advice and it’s really cool to meet everyone from all over the world 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Esther @ Chapter Adventures says:

    I love you advice. I know both things but I keep forgetting them, you know? I stress over posts not being up in time or not being able to comment on other blogs as much as I would want to, but I have to keep reminding myself this is all for fun. This was my daily reminder 🙂 Thank you for tagging me and sharing those tips and your blogging story (your uncle sounds really nice!).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Louise / geniereads says:

    Congratulations on you award, Marta! Like what your uncle suggested, I honestly wanted to be a booktuber at first then decided against it because I can’t get myself to properly talk in front of a camera. And thank you so much for nominating me, though I’ve already done this award before. Here’s a link if you want to check it out: https://geniereads.wordpress.com/2016/06/05/blogger-recognition-award-i-survived-my-first-month/

    I really appreciate the thought though, thanks! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I actually tried to film a video 😂 But it didn’t turn out what I wanted, my voice sounded weird, and I don’t have the editor I used to work with before so I changed my mind. Also, blogging takes less time than booktube! hahahaha no problem! I’ll check your post 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

