The Ugly Teapot by Fred Holmes

29749200

Title: The Ugly Teapot

Author: Fred Holmes

Number of Pages: 205

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads

Fourteen-year-old Hannah Bradbury loved her father so much that she worried about him constantly. After all, he was a photographer who traveled to the most dangerous places in the world.

To allay her fears, each time he came home he brought her silly gifts, each one with supposed magical powers: the Seal of Solomon, the Ring of Gyges, even Aladdinโ€™s Lamp. It was that lamp Hannah found the most unbelievable, for it looked like an ugly teapot. Nevertheless, her father assured her it was real, and made her promise to save her three wishes for something very special.

Then . . . six months later . . . the unthinkable happened. Her father was killed while on assignment to Baghdad. And so on the day of his funeral Hannah did something she never thought she would ever do.

She took out that teapot and gave it a rub . . .

The Ugly Teapot by Fred Holmes is a timeless tale, filled with magic and adventure. More importantly, it will make you believe in the overwhelming power of love.

onda

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

myreview

(Spoiler-free)

Wow, how can I say anything about this without revealing the biggest plot twist? hahaha. I didn’t see it coming at all, although I should have because I thought about that possibility a couple of times throughout the book.

But I’ll try my best to review it without any kind of spoilers.

First, the writing. It was surprisingly good and very descriptive, and I loved building the image in my head of the places because there are so many details in the book that you can do it easily. Most of the story is set in Iraq, which you can imagine is not a place I’m used to, and I loved all the Aladdin referencesย on this, starting with the title, but also with relatives and even the plot itself.

” ‘All myths have some basis in fact’, said Aliya.”

The thing I loved most about the book must be the humor on it! Gus was extremely sarcastic, but Hannah’s father wasn’t very far below and even Hannah wasn’t so bad herself. I remember the first time I had one of my “What the hell is going on?” moments was when Griff, Hannah’s dog, revealed his “ability”, and I seriously started questioning Hannah’s mental health after that. But honestly, Gus really got on my nerves sometimes; he’s this relaxed person who whatever he does he’s calm, and I just couldn’t stand him, because I’d be as frightened as Hannah in their situation!

Hannah’s parents were really good characters as well: during the entire book I didn’t like her mom the way Hannah pictured her, but at the end, we could see she’s actually a great mom; and her dad is this charismatic man Hannah remembers him to be, with a life full of adventures! Her little brothers surprised me too, with the maturity they showed.

And although I loved the fact that nothing of this led to a romance, at the same time I just adored reading the moments between Hannah and Ahmed.

cute-gif-jeremy-renner-face

And with all this, I totally forgot to talk about the main character ๐Ÿ˜‚ย I’m sorry, I just really can’t order my thoughts today! Hannah was a really nice character to read about, she seemed very realistic, as with 14 years old, no one expects you to be this badass hero (unless you’re Percy Jackson), and she was scared and had her selfish moments and I completely loved her for being real!

The Genie was another character that pissed me off because he was so well-written! He’s nothing like the Genie we knew from the Disney version of Aladdin, he’s not the “nice” type, he’s actually how I think Genies would be if they were real, trying to trick people into what they want.

tumblr_n4gukbqhab1tybs86o1_500

And finally, the end. There are two things that happen, still in Hannah’s adventure, that are … well, tragic, and supposedly heart-breaking, but they happened so fast that unfortunately, they didn’t hit me (okay, one of them really hit me the second time it was mentioned). And, as already mentioned, the end surprised me a lot, because I didn’t see it coming, but I think there are still a few things unexplained – the end wrapped up the story really nicely, but opened another door, that will probably be explored in the next book. You’ll have to read it too to see ๐Ÿ˜›

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha

 


ย You can buy this book through

Book Depository


Well, this review came out a bit confusing, as my thoughts were all tangled, but I think this summed up my opinion. Have you read The Ugly Teapot? ๐Ÿ™‚

marta2

twitterig

7 thoughts on “The Ugly Teapot by Fred Holmes

Leave a Reply

