Brawl by Kylie Hillman

It’s 11.57 pm here in Portugal – which means I almost forgot to post my review today! πŸ˜‚Β However, I actually did it and I’m very proud of myself for being able to post two reviews this week because I’m not posting as often as I used to in September, and hopefully I’ll be able to keep it like this until the end of the month at least!

So today I’ll be reviewing Brawl by Kylie Hillman – I don’t usually read books of this genre, but the synopsis seemed interesting,Β so I decided to give it a go! ☺

28166792

Title: Brawl

Author: Kylie Hillman

Number of Pages: 300

Language: English

synopis

Gabriella Mitchell is a fighter.

She fights to keep her family together after her parent’s divorce.
She fights to keep her siblings safe and in school.
She fights because it’s the only thing keeping her sane.

Stumbling across an underground MMA fight ring in Sydney, her blood roars as she watches the ruthless Hayden “Hooligan” Harvie with floor of the octagon with his latest opponent.

Gabriella decides she wants to fight professionally; to support her siblings with her fists…and she wants Hooligan to teach her.

Hooligan doesn’t think girls should fight. Especially young, pretty ones he’d love to have warming his bed for a night or two…if only he could silence his conscience long enough.

Every couple needs to fight for their love at some stage, however, with two stubborn hearts at stake, a happy ending for these two will require an all-out BRAWL.

onda

I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

myreview

I think my review will be shorter than usual because I read this book really fast, and honestly, I don’t have much to say.

I found myself really addicted to the story! I actually stayed up until quite late to finish it, and it even surprised me that I read it in two days – which hasn’t happened since school started. The story is told in the main character’s point of view, and also in her love interest’s, and both annoyed me at first because they curse a lot, for everything and for anything, and although I eventually got used to it, I still didn’t like it one tad bit. I get it that some people curse a lot, but that much? They had one in almost every sentence!Β 

Both the main character, Gabbi, and Hooligan have pretty messed-up lives, but I liked the way Gabbi deals with her problems and how much she cares about her siblings, always trying to put some sense into her sister and taking care of her little brother like an actual mom. Gabbi is always judged for being different, like her clothes and tattoos, so I also enjoyed the fact she didn’t care about those comments, but annoyed me a bit the way she used to take her life in the first chapters – girl, there’s more to life than that! We’re also told she has two passions in her life, and although she pursued one of them, I’m curious about the other, as no one really mentioned it in the end! I hope she did it, though, because after all the crap she went trough, she deserves to be happy.

The romance was another thing that didn’t convince me. Like Gabbi said, it was “love at first sight”, and although I believe Gabbi’s feelings took some time to develop, I’m not so sure about Hooligan. Also, I had already forgotten the synopsis by the time I started reading the book, so I was completely surprised with the way this went!

“The angry girl and the ruthless fighter.”

Overall, this was entertaining, but I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone with problems reading about sexual details.

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha


You can buy this book through

Book Depository


marta2

twitterig

3 thoughts on “Brawl by Kylie Hillman

Leave a Reply

