A Thousand Salt Kisses by Josie Demuth

I have a history test in two days and I should be studying right now, but procrastination is getting the best of me, so I decided to at last try to make something productive – here’s a review for a book I finished recently 😉

30055885

Title: A Thousand Salt Kisses

Author: Josie Demuth

Publisher: Wise Ink

Number of Pages: 443

Language: English

synopis

Seventeen-year-old Crystal White is the new girl on Starfish Island. Dragged to the remote community by her environmental activist father, she is eager to find fun that doesn’t involve touching fish guts or listening to local folklore.

During a midnight swim with some new friends, Crystal is pulled out to sea by the waves. Convinced she’s going to drown, Crystal is rescued by Llyr, a handsome stranger. As she searches for him in the following weeks, she finds there may be more truth to the Starfish legends than she thought.

Over a sizzling roller-coaster summer, Llyr introduces Crystal to magic she’d only ever dreamed of. But as Crystal comes to love Starfish Island, it begins to drive her family apart. A nearby power plant is devastating local marine life, and her parents are stuck in the middle. As the magic and mundane parts of Crystal’s life converge, she finds herself risking everything to save Llyr, her family, and herself.

onda

I got this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

myreview

Allow me to get this straight: I didn’t hate the book, but this is just a bunch of clichés altogether.

  •  We’re told that our main character, Crystal, is gorgeously beautiful a lot more than a reasonable amount of times, so that’s supposed  to be a big deal and raises a lot of theories but actually it didn’t lead anywhere. Apparently, we were just not told enough times that she is pretty.
  • Then, the insta love. UGH! Please don’t! I could have accepted it, though, if there was any mermaid-ish explanation – but nope, it was “normal” love at first sight.
  • And finally, Crystal’s summer holidays. This is a book about mermaids and mermen! Wouldn’t it be great to read about them? Where they live, the way they live, their problems … Okay, so we got to know some of their problems, but the majority of the book was just Llyr (the merman and love interest) being confused about Crystal’s lifestyle (human lifestyle in general) and Crystal explaining it to him. Like, we already know all of that!!

And there’s a couple more too, but I just can’t remember them now 😂

However, despite the clichés, I found some nice things to read about in this book. Crystal’s dad, for example, was so funny to read about, acting so enthusiastically about his project! Her mom, on the other hand … I didn’t quite like her, both her “good” and “bad” side!

There’s also a lot of funny moments between Crystal and Rosie, and I loved all of them. I just wish I could also say that I love their friendship, but I can’t – I hated that Rosie left Crystal behind so easily!!

But what wasn’t left behind were the puns and references.

“Merfolk?” I clarified. My tone was calm. “As in, Ariel?”

Not only with The Little Mermaid, though. When I read “The dollar signs flashed in his pupils” all I could think about was Mr. Krabs. 😂

tumblr_nozofgnwoj1u0lab7o1_500

And there’s also one part where it is said that “winter is coming” and I couldn’t stop laughing because obviously … 😉

Honestly, my biggest and definitely most unbearable issue was the insta love, because I was rolling my eyes at everything Crystal said about Llyr, like at how handsome he was and stuff, when she had only met him that same day!! I can kind of forgive (although not forget) the other clichés. The end was super rushed, but at least it was good enough to make me interested in the next book.

Even though I might read the second book, 3 stars seems a lot for this one, so I’m going with …

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha e meia


You can buy this book trough

Book Depository 


Have you read A Thousand Salt Kisses? 🙂

marta2

twitterig

4 thoughts on “A Thousand Salt Kisses by Josie Demuth

Leave a Reply

