13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Hello there, I hope you’re having a great Saturday! Today I’m attending a wedding (and that’s probably where I am as you’re reading this) and I know that I’ll be happy for as long as I have food πŸ˜‚Β I also put a book on my bag too so that I could be entertained, guess I’ll spend my afternoon reading as much as I can of House of Hades my Rick Riordan πŸ™‚

But unlike my day, my review for today won’t be so good 😦

6500026

Title: 13 Reasons Why

Author: Jay Asher

Publisher: Penguin UK

Number of Pages: 288

Language: English

synopis

You can’t stop the future.

You can’t rewind the past.

The only way to learn the secret is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker – his classmate and first love – who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

Hannah’s voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

All through the night, Clay keeps listening – and what he discovers changes his life… forever.

onda

myreview

My reading experience could’ve been better, to be honest. The concept of the book is really original and I’ve heard so many good things about it that I was so excited to get to it, but unfortunately it didn’t live up to my expectations.

Just like I said, the idea behind the book is original and the writing is nice – Β those were basically the reasons that made me keep reading the book because I wanted to know more!

But it took me forever to finish it. I was reading some ebooks at the same time, and as I can’t take my tablet with me everywhere, I had to also be reading a physical copy of something, and I chose 13 Reasons Why.

8953082

The chapters of this book are HUGE –Β it’s a chapter for each half of the tapes, and although I think this is the best way to divide it, it wasn’t very convenient for me. I had very little time per day to read this book – I’d only read it during breaks (10 – 20 minutes) and my lunch hour on Mondays. So I often got lost about what I was reading! And obviously, I don’t remember any small detail by now.

The characters didn’t bring out any strong emotion out of me. I didn’t like how Hannah made Clay feel, and I even felt some hate for a few characters, but for most of the time, I couldn’t care less about them. And that’s really sad because this book has all the potential to make you feel a lot of things! Some scenes were really good, though.

“When you’re messing with one part of a person’s life, you’re messing with their entire life.”

I got the message this book wanted us to get, and I honestly think it deserves all the good reviews people write, but I guess I just read it at the wrong time. This was just an “okay” read for me, and that’s 3 stars!

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha


Have you read 13 Reasons Why? πŸ™‚

marta2

twitterig

One thought on “13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Leave a Reply

