Top 5 Halloween Movies

Halloween is right tomorrow and it’s probably the only time of the year when I’m actually upset I don’t live in the US.

tumblr_nx0qgqzuir1t1muqmo1_500

Unfortunately, we don’t really celebrate it here – there are parties at night clubs and more and more kids are getting out of their houses at night to go ask for candies, but most of the houses they visit aren’t expecting them. It’s really sad, and I remember only going to two Halloween parties in my whole life – one was at one of my friends’ house and I was really young, I don’t remember exactly how old I was, but I shouldn’t have been more than 10 years old. We danced, played some games and ate (which, let’s be honest, was the best part ๐Ÿ˜‚). We also wanted to go treat or tricking after dinner but then it started raining so we couldn’t leave the house. The second party was in 7th grade at school and I only have two memories of that night – that one of my friends participated in the costume contest (she was a witch) and how badly my right foot was hurting me because I didn’t have pockets and had to keep my phone on my boot. ย ๐Ÿ˜‚

So I usually just spend my Halloween planning my costume (check Friday’s post) and watching my favorite movies. And that’s why I’m writing this post!

This is actually a collab with Carolina @ A Little of Everything and we’re both writing about movies. I’m definitely not the horror movie person, so I’m not writing about those – but Carolina is, and maybe someday I’ll get the courage to watch one out of her recommendations! Her post is originally in Portuguese, but you can find an English translation if you scroll down. ๐Ÿ™‚

So here are my choices:

ย p21485_d_v8_aa

Halloweentown

This one is definitely my favorite of all! I can’t let pass any Halloween without watching it! Disney Channel usually organises Halloween movie marathons and until last year, that’s when I’d watch this – I’d prepare a lot of food and stay until 2 am lying on my couch watching Disney Channel ๐Ÿ˜‚ย This year, however, I looked for it on my computer, as I’m quite a bit busy with schoolย ๐Ÿ˜ญ

My favorites are the first and the last movie – although I’m sad they had to change the main actress, but I liked them both ๐Ÿ™‚

onda

vp5vsnh5jpoi9lbkrdcubbfvdu4

 

Twitches

This movie brings me so many good memories, I also wanted to discover my twin witch sister and practice magic and save the world hahahaย My favorite is the second (and last, unfortunately) movie.

onda

24b1f9df257b92ea00110b828f1b7e21

Girl vs Monster

This movie is such a good one tooย because the message in it was easily passed and it has good music! Also, after it was announced that Katherine McNamara was going to be Clary on Shadowhunters, I just kept thinking I knew her from somewhere. Turns out she plays Myra and I only found out who she was because a few days after I was watching the movie again!ย ๐Ÿ˜‚

onda

edward_scissorhands_ver1

Edward Scissorhands

A huge shoutout to my friend Sofia for making me watch this movie earlier this year when I went to her house to write a school group work. We were watching it as we were eating lunch, not instead of actually working, don’t worry ๐Ÿ˜› Even though this isn’t a childhood movie for me just like the three before, it’s really beautiful and I loved it, and I already rewatched it a couple of times ever since (one of them this month, of course!)

onda

addams_family_ver2

Addams Family

I can feel youย judging me so hard for what I’m about to say: I only watched these movies for the first time this year. And I wish I had watched them earlier because they’re incredibly hilarious and I really liked them! My favorite is the second one.


And these were my choices! I wish I could have added a few more because there are more movies that I love to watch on Halloween, but I guess I can talk about them on my October Wrap Up! ๐Ÿ™‚

Don’t forget to check out Carolina’s post (and follow her, because she’s amazing! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

What’s your favorite Halloween movie?

marta2

twitterig

 

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Halloween Movies

  1. cornreviewsbooks says:

    I love all the movies on this list except Girl Vs Monster but only because I haven’t seen it yet. I used to watch the Halloween town movies every year. I liked Twitches too Disney channel has some good movies I grew up watching them but I’m not as book of a fan of there newer ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I agree, Disney channel had some pretty good stuff. I don’t even remember the last time I watched it, I miss it hahaha Well, some of the new stuff they have is not that bad, but the old Disney is definitely better โค

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Louise / geniereads says:

    DINSEY ORIGINAL MOVIES YAAASSSSS! โคโคโค I don’t think I’ve seen Girl vs Monster yet, I’ll definitely be adding that to my line up tonight. One of my favorite halloween movies is The Nightmare Before Christmas haha and it’s not even wholly about halloween. Great list Marta. โค๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Thank you! ๐Ÿ’– Tell me what you think about it after you finish it ๐Ÿ˜Š I have yet to watch The Nightmare Before Cristmas, can you believe it? I started it last year, but then I couldn’t finish it. I have a lot of things to do tonight, but I’ll try to watch it, along with other movies ๐Ÿ‘ป

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

