Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Spoiler-Free Movie Review

Last night I had such a great time watching Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them with two friends! I completely loved the movie and now I’m loving reading / hearing some of the reviews out there. And I’ve decided to write my own 😉

mv5bmjmxotm1oti4mv5bml5banbnxkftztgwode5otyxmdi-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

Title: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Date: 2016

Director: David Yates

Writer: J. K. Rowling

Cast: Ed Redmayne, Katherine Waterstone, Alison Sudol, Dan Fogler, Ezra Miller, Colin Farell, Carmen Ejogo

Genre(s): Adventure, Family, Fantasy

 

 

 

onda
myreview

GUUUUYS I DID IT, I WATCHED IT AND IT WAS AMAZING!!

Ever since I got my ticket (more or less a month ago), I’ve been extremely excited about the movie! Unfortunately, I couldn’t make it to the release day, and so I watched other people’s reactions to it before, including one of my classmates (I have no idea how she managed not to give me all the details 😛 ).

But the movie is absolutely phenomenal and I have no idea where to start talking about it (Marta’s thoughts and where to find them sounds like a good sequel).

Okay, first, the Warner Bros logo and the soundtrack – I was already crying (okay, not really, but almost) by then! I should probably add here that the movie soundtrack is on point 👌 As well as the plot! The plot of Fantastic Beasts is amazing because it was always meant to be a movie and not an adaptation, so I actually think this one was a better movie than the actual Harry Potter movies (don’t get me wrong there, I love the Harry Potter books and the movies are not so bad, but like any other adaptation, they had to cut out some things, and here, they already knew this had to be shorter to fit in a movie). The first scenes of the movie were kind of dragged – because they were showing us how the wizarding world works in America – but still very enjoyable. I recognized a lot of scenes from the trailers and I was quoting everything at the same time as the actors (and I could feel everyone judging me 😂)

I wonder… what makes Albus Dumbledore so fond of you, Mr. Scamander?

The characters were so well portrayed and honestly, not for a second did I thought “Oh, you’re not fit to play this character”. Eddie Redmayne was a perfect Newt, and I knew that for sure the moment he showed the inside of his case to Jacob (and Oh Merlin!, that was an amazing scene, one of my favorites definitely), because he’s so passionate about what he does and he wants to protect the beasts so much – and there’s a specific scene I won’t talk about, but it broke my heart a little bit because Newt was so worried about them – and also, Eddie was a bit awkward, which I loved, that was certainly what made me think “This says Newt Scamander all over it”! My other favorite characters were Jacob (incredible portrayed by Dan Fogler, every reaction he had as a No-Maj was hilarious), Credence (wow, just wow really!) and Queenie (she’s such a cutie 💖,  but she was also a very underestimated character and definitely took advantage of that – you go, girl!).

The whole beasts stuff was awesome too! I don’t know if you remember, but some days ago I shared my guest post @ Watford Library with you guys, where I talked about my favorite beasts (you can read it here). I said a lot of things that now that I’ve watched the movie I can rethink about: first, THE NIFFLER IS STILL THE MOST ADORABLE THING EVER! Every time he appeared, the only thing that came out of my mouth was “awww”. And you know that jewelry shop scene from the trailer? Even funnier in the movie!  The scene between the Erumpent, Newt and Jacob was hilarious too, I don’t know which one I liked the most. And I finally figured out how and why can an Occamy fit in a teapot 😛 There are a lot more beasts and things from Newt’s case I’d like to talk about, but as I’m trying to write a spoiler-free review and also keep this quite short, I’ll pass it for now.

Finally, the end – I don’t even know what “the end” is anymore. There’s this battle at the end that is amazing, the special effects are fantastic, it’s such a fast-paced scene that it was even hard to keep on with! Then, there’s a revelation at the end (my best friend totally saw it coming 😂 good thing we didn’t bet on it!) but also a heartbreaking scene – I’m still not over it! I wasn’t expecting it to happen, but I’m glad it did for that same reason (does that make any sense? I don’t think so) but what happens now? So many questions unanswered and now there’s a gap of two years until the next movie! 😭

But overall the movie was amazing, I didn’t have any big problems with it, and the whole experience of watching it in the theaters was great too (it was my first time watching a wizarding world movie at the theatre 😛 ) because everyone had the same reactions at the same time – the same laughing, the same “aww”, the same crying. And everyone was chatting really loudly during the ads before the movie started, and then the room went dark and everyone suddenly shut up like “heck ya, gonna watch a masterpiece now, everybody shut up” 😂


Have you watched Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them? 😀

marta2

twitterig

One thought on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Spoiler-Free Movie Review

Leave a Reply

