This is what goodbye looks like by Olivia Rivers

Wey hey! How’s everyone? 😀

Today I’m sharing with you a review of a book I read a few days ago.

30079589

Title:

This is What Goodbye Looks Like

Author: Olivia Rivers

Publisher: Red Sparrow Press

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads

Lea Holder watched a boy die in the same DUI accident that ruined Lea’s legs and threw her little sister into a coma. As the only eye-witness to the accident, if she tells the truth in court, the drunk driver will go to prison and the dead boy’s family will have justice.

But Lea lies.

If she had told the truth, Lea would have put her own mom in prison for causing the accident. With the trial over and her mom set free, Lea attempts to rebuild her shattered life as she waits for her little sister to wake from her coma.

When Lea transfers schools, she finds herself in the same senior class as Seth Ashbury, the brother of the boy her mom killed. As Lea gets to know the person buried underneath Seth’s grief, she quickly falls for his quick wit and passionate soul. But Seth remains completely oblivious that Lea is the same girl who robbed his family of justice.

As their relationship deepens, Lea finally gets a taste of the love that’s been missing from her life since the accident. But soon she’s faced with a choice: she can continue her lies and accept the comfort it gives them both. Or she can tell Seth the truth about everything, and risk destroying both her family and her newfound love.

onda

myreview

All spoilers are hidden. 

I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this story, but I still had some problems with it.

I really wanted to get along with Lea, but while I didn’t hate her, I didn’t love her either. I understood her reasons but I couldn’t see why she had to get so involved in the problem. She really messed up and as it was mentioned a couple of times in the book, it was all very sick. The only thing I found “inspiring” about her was her love for her little sister, but even that felt like too much sometimes. I completely hated her parents, I get they were under a lot of pressure but was it really necessary to act like that? Lea’s mom didn’t turn out very bad, though. And I kinda liked her brother.

On the other hand, the good things: I loved Brie and Seth. They’re so nice and fun to be around, and the best lines came from them! They definitely influenced my final rating! The other characters weren’t very memorable, and I just remember the same as Lea – they were all very nice.

The writing was a very good aspect: simple and easy to follow. However, it was a bit repetitive a few times.

The end didn’t convince me. It was very happy, and I sure was very happy with it, but truth being told, it wasn’t realistic. I’d have preferred more chapters in the end, explaining what happened – because there’s a huge lack of details in the epilogue – and maybe a few changes too, <spoiler> especially about Camille and Seth: I was already hoping for Camille to wake up, but “sudden miracle” doesn’t convince me and I certainly expected other reaction from Seth, how could he forgive her like that? She sent that video (doing the right thing) for the wrong reasons!! I needed more development. Also, the title promised something that definitely isn’t what I got! <end of spoiler> 

I’d say this book is more like 3.5 stars, but I enjoyed it so much while reading the first 75% that I decided to give it 4 stars just because of that, and also because Brie and Seth made the whole story for me.

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha


Have you read This is What Goodbye Looks Like? What did you think about it? 🙂

marta2

twitterig

5 thoughts on “This is what goodbye looks like by Olivia Rivers

Leave a Reply

