The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

I’m officially on Christmas break, and I couldn’t be happier! To get into the Christmas mood, I’m currently re-reading Let it Snow – and, of course, I’m taking advantage of the re-read to bring you a new review this month – but for now I’ll leave you with my opinion of The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. This was a buddy read (kindaย ๐Ÿ˜‚) with Cรกtia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, so don’t forget to check out her blog ๐Ÿ˜‰

29863451

Title: The Sun is Also a Star

Author: Nicola Yoon

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Number of Pages: 348

Language: English

Goodreads

synopis

Natasha: Iโ€™m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. Iโ€™m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him wonโ€™t be my story.

Daniel: Iโ€™ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parentsโ€™ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in storeโ€”for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

onda

myreview

I received this book trough NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.ย 

All spoilers are hidden.ย 

I’m predicting this is going to be a short review: I loved this book, but I’ve found myself struggling with what to say about it.

This was the first book I read by Nicola Yoon and WHAT A START! I loved her writing and she organized her text in such an original way. I must say, I loved when she just introduced random characters (that turned out not to be random at all). She also added these chapters, not about characters, but about other details; there was this one namedย Hair: An African American History, and others similar, and we could learn so much through this! It was definitely a nice addition!

Our main characters, Daniel and Natasha, are everything I’d ask for to read about in my last (but stressful) week of school: they’re funny, witty and sarcastic. Daniel sometimes pushed it a little bit too far, though. I found him quite annoying every time he mentioned he would make Natasha fall in love with him in one day. But besides that, he was fine. I just liked Natasha better. The plot was also very well-thought and used. However, it seemed too long for me, but I blame that on classes: this is the kind of book I’d have liked to read on a free day (and it’d have taken me one day to read as well).

“We’reย trying to fit a lifetime into a day.”

I was so worried about the end of the book, but it made me really happy, not only about Natasha and Daniel, but also about the other character involved ๐Ÿ˜‰ <spoiler> Irene’s story was really heartbreaking, but I was so glad about how things turned out for her! <end of spoiler>

This is the kind of book I’d recommend to everyone so that you can love it and learn a couple of things at the same time.ย But no, I’m not giving it 5 stars – I’ve decided to rate it as a 4-star-book for me, only because I didn’t enjoy the insta-love (that was predictable, and as I mentioned before, Daniel became quite annoying).

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha


You can buy this book trough

Book Depositoryย 


Have you read The Sun is Also a Star? ๐Ÿ™‚

marta2twitterig

 

10 thoughts on “The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

  1. Beatrice says:

    Hi ! I just came across your blog and I SO LOVE your graphics!! Anyway, I love how you loved The Sun Is Also A Star. I agree with you about Irene! I really recommend Everything, Everything. You should read it if you still haven’t. Nicola Yoon is my favorite author of all time and that book is the reason why I look forward to every book she writes! ๐Ÿ™‚ Nice too meet you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Hi, Beatrice! Nice to meet you too ๐Ÿ˜€
      Thank you so much for the kind words and the recomendation! I still haven’t read Everything, Everything, as I’ve heard some spoilers that I didn’t particularly like. There is a scene in the book I’d rather not read. But I’m happy you enjoyed it! Nicola Yoon’s writing style was a nice surprise for me, so I’ll try to check out what she writes in the future. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

