Threats of Sky and Sea by Jennifer Ellision

threatsofskyandsea_header

Title: Threats of Sky and Sea

Author: Jennifer Ellision

Publisher: Createspace

Number of Pages: 360

Language: English

Goodreads

synopis

Sixteen year-old Breena Perdit has spent her life as a barmaid, innocent to her father’s past and happily free from the Elemental gifts that would condemn her to a life in the Egrian King’s army. Until the day that three Elemental soldiers recognize her father as a traitor to the throne and Bree’s father is thrown in jail—along with the secrets from his last mission as the King’s assassin. Secrets that could help the King win a war. Secrets he refuses to share.

Desperate to escape before the King’s capricious whims prove her and her father’s downfall, Bree bargains with him: information for their lives. It’s a good trade. And she has faith she’ll get them both out of the King’s grasp with time.

But that was before the discovery that she’s the weapon the King’s been waiting for in his war.

Now, time is running out. To save her father’s life and understand her own, Bree must unravel the knot of her father’s past before the King takes his life– and uses her to bring a nation to its knees.

onda

I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

myreview

Spoiler-Free

I think I haven’t been so satisfied with a book for a really long time. It wasn’t perfect and it had its flaws, but it gave me what the synopsis promised me and it kept me hooked. 

The pace of the story was confusing and, apparently, random. It started really well, the first chapters were very well-paced, I wanted it to speed up because I needed some action, but at the same time, these were the only chapters we had to get to know Bree’s life and I wanted to get to know her better. Then, everything fell apart. It became really slow, what we got to read was boring (for me, that is) and what I was really interested in knowing wasn’t given a central point. The final chapters were extremely rushed.

The plot was also predictable – there’s no other way of saying this, everyone could see that coming. And yet, I was still very interested in Bree’s story and what would happen to her.

However, despite its flaws, I have to admit that the world building and the character development were very well done. I could use a little more information about this new world, but I’m hoping I’ll get it in the next book, though. The characters were all very likable. I honestly don’t have anything bad to say about them: Bree was an excellent main character, very resourceful, smart and responsible. She was also kind-hearted, and couldn’t stay quiet when something was wrong. Aleta was a nice surprise: she was our “mean girl” at the beginning, but then turned out to be a good friend, and it was amazing to see female friendship represented by these two ladies. I could also explain why I really liked Tregle, but with that, I’d be spoiling some scenes for you and there’s no need. Let’s just say  he’s a nice guy 😛

What I found unnecessary was the romance. No, there wasn’t any insta love, and I didn’t feel it was forced, either. I just think there was a lack of information. Remember when I said that what I wanted to read wasn’t in the book? This is what I was talking about! Bree and Caden have some ‘alone moments’ a couple of times, and even though I always knew they’d end up together, I just didn’t want this to happen in this first book. Bree had some funny thoughts related to Caden, but every time they met up there wasn’t any romantic intention. I didn’t even feel a strong friendship between those two, let alone being lovers! Fortunately, there was only one romantic scene, and I’m willing to forget it if the next book brings some development!

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha e meia

I decided to give this book the benefit of the doubt and I rated it with 4 stars. If later I think better about it and decide that it doesn’t deserve it, I’ll change for 3 or 3,5 stars.

Update (December 24th, 2016): I finished the last book and decided to change my rate. It’s now 3,5 stars!!

There’s also a lot of people comparing this series to Throne of Glass. I haven’t read Throne of Glass, so there’s no way for me to say if it is, but this book reminded me a lot of Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.


You can buy this book trough

Book Depository 


marta2twitterig

2 thoughts on “Threats of Sky and Sea by Jennifer Ellision

Leave a Reply

