Christmas, Books & I Tag

Three days until Christmas!! Woohoo!! 😀

I love this time of the year, it’s absolutely amazing, I love seeing all the decorations on the streets, I love getting presents for people (even though it’s a stressful task and I hate crowded shops) and I love love loooove Christmas food!!

This is the first Christmas I spend here with the book blogging community, and I’ve already read a few posts related to Christmas like Blogmas and some Tags. However, I thought that everyone would be more excited about it! So I was really happy when Catarina @ Nerd e Chique tagged me to do the Christmas tag she created: Eu, o Natal e os Livros. As it was originally written in Portuguese, I have to translate it for you to understand, but I hope you all enjoy reading it 🙂

1 – Where do you usually spend your Christmas?

My parents are divorced, so I usually have two Christmas. I have dinner on Christmas Eve with my dad, my uncle (his brother), my granddad and my brother. We open our presents there and then, my dad takes us (my brother and me) to wherever we are celebrating Christmas with our mom. She has two brothers, so it changes every year – this year I’m going to celebrate Christmas Eve at one of my uncle’s house, and I’m going to spend Christmas day at my own house, with my other uncle.

2 – How do you usually spend your Christmas?

It’s no different than any other day, actually. I’ll read, maybe write a couple of posts and watch some movies on TV. I’ll also visit my great-aunt to deliver her Christmas present. Time flies, and then it’s dinner time.

3 – Do you rather read a book or spend time with your family? 

I try to give some attention to my family 😂 Just kidding, I put my book aside. My younger cousins are always doing something and pulling me to play with them.

4 – What genre of books do you enjoy reading during the Christmas season?

I don’t usually care about genres. This month I re-read Let it Snow for a Christmas marathon but besides that, I usually read whatever I want from my TBR.

5 – Do you know any book related to Christmas?

Mentioned before, Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle. I know there are more but this is the only Christmassy book I’ve read.

6 – What desserts/sweets do you like to eat on Christmas Eve / Christmas Day?

If my mom does her mango mousse, I’ll certainly be eating that, but it isn’t exactly a Christmas dessert, so I’d say rabanadas (I didn’t know how to translate it, but google translated it into ‘French Toast’).

7 – How many books have you read so far this month?

I’ve read four books and I’m currently in the middle of the fifth 🙂

8 – How many books do you want to read until the end of the month?

I really wanted to make December my best reading month of the year, and read more than 10 books. However, I don’t think that’s possible, so at least I hope I can read seven – which means I still need to read two books and a half 🙂

9 – How many books do you think you’re going to get this Christmas?

Around 15. Books are literally the only thing I’ve asked for this year. My mom isn’t comfortable ordering from Book Depository, so she’s not giving me books (also, she says I have too many already), but my dad, uncle, and granddad are giving me books. I had to be one ordering them, though, because they don’t understand a thing about Book Depository or my reading preferences, so basically I already know which books I’m going to get. Please tell me I’m not the only one 😂

10 – Is there any book you’d really like to get?

I ordered a Harry Potter box set (the new editions) last month and I’m still waiting for it to arrive. It’d be the perfect Christmas gift if it gets here before Saturday.

11 – Do you rather give or receive presents?

I love getting presents, I’m not going to lie, especially if they’re books, haha But there’s something about giving presents to other people that makes me really happy.

12 – What’s your favorite thing about of Christmas? 

Christmas decoration!! My living room is all ready for Christmas, believe me. There’s the Christmas tree, there are some candles on our coffee table and there are decorative Christmas socks over the fireplace. We also have lights on our balcony. And a small Christmas Tree in my room.

And the decorations in the streets are equally beautiful! I love the huge Christmas tree my city has, as well as some swings with words such as ‘Love’, ‘Family’ and ‘Peace’.


Time to share some Christmas spirit!! ⛄🎄

I tag …

Watford Library

The Bookworm’s Fantasy

Blame it on Chocolate 

icebreaker694

I won’t tag anyone else because recently I’ve been tagging a lot of people for tags and awards and I don’t want you to get tired of me 😂 BUT FEEL FREE TO DO THIS ANYWAY IF YOU WANT!! Leave it in the comments so that I can read it 😉


marta2twitterig

11 thoughts on “Christmas, Books & I Tag

  1. sophiethestark says:

    Thank you so much for the tag! Unfortunately I’m not going to be able to post anything else until maybe after New Year’s… But I appreciate you taking the time to consider me 🙂 I really liked reading about your Christmas traditions!

    I hope you enjoy the rest of your holidays and Merry Christmas 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      yeah, I have no idea what my mom is going to get me either, I gave her a list of possible gifts, but it’s still a surprise. I don’t mind knowing what my presents are, tho, I prefer watching other people’s reactions opening their gifts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Eu também notei bastante a diferença de número. O meu pai dá-me sempre um valor máximo, e eu o ano passado como comprei todos os livros em português (que são mais caros) não recebi tantos. Neste último ano, aprendi onde comprar livros mais baratos e onde aproveitar promoções, e por isso o número estica 😛
      Vale sempre mais qualidade do que quantidade, gostares dos livros é o que interessa ^^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

