Riot of Storm and Smoke by Jennifer Ellision

I’m now watching the news on TV and apparently, there’s a lot of people still shopping for Christmas gifts! 😂 Do you have everything ready for tonight?

Merry Christmas ❤

And for those of you who don’t celebrate Christmas, I hope you have a great day ^^

22359983

Title: Riot of Storm and Smoke

(Threats of Sky and Sea, #2)

Author: Jennifer Ellision

Publisher: Createspace

Number of Pages: 239

Language: English

Goodreads

synopis

War draws closer, like a tide to the shore.

Bree and her friends have escaped the clutches of the Egrian King, but their troubles are far from over. Still reeling from the secrets that drew new breath when her father took his last, Bree sets off for the safety of Nereidium– the kingdom she’s just learned is hers.

But with the King’s ire at its peak and war a certainty, Nereidium is no longer safe. As Prince Caden rallies the Egrian people against his tyrant father, Bree, Princess Aleta, and Tregle race to the Nereid shore to warn them of the incoming danger—and to put the Nereid Princess on the throne.

The only trouble there: Bree can’t bring herself to reveal that the Princess is her.

It’s not a dilemma she can waste time pondering. With a new weapon in his arsenal, the King’s strikes are sure to be bolder than ever before. And Bree may not be ready to wear a crown… but she won’t let her kingdom down without a fight.

onda

I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. myreview

Spoiler-Free

I couldn’t decide between 3,5 or 4 stars for the first book (at first I gave it the benefit of the doubt and rated it 4 stars, but ended up changing my mind), but this was a solid 4-star-book for me. It showed improvements, which was great!

I think the pace of this book was better. Nothing was too slow but it wasn’t rushed either, and I appreciated it. This book was basically only travels, and so we got to know more about this world, its people, religion, how elemental magic works, etc etc – summing up, I got the explanations I wanted to get in the first book. Honestly, I prefer the sequel over the first book!

There’s also character development! For me, Bree was basically ‘strong and responsible’ throughout the first book, but now we got to see her vulnerable side. Same goes for Aleta and Tregle – I loved them even more! I suppose war does that to people. It also changed Caden, but not in a good way – he was really sweet in the first book, but now I just couldn’t put myself to like him …

… What leads me to the romance. If I didn’t connect with Caden and Bree in the first book, forget it. I just can’t do it! They spent a lot of time apart, and yet they only thought about each other a couple of times. And then, when they finally meet again, they’re suddenly oh, so in love with each other! It really annoyed me, because I thought that their only romantic scene in the first book was unnecessary, and I expected so much more from them. They did have one HUGE romantic scene in this book, – and I’m not going to lie, I loved it, – but with what happened right after that, all my hope for those two died.

Not all love in this book was a disappointment, though. There’s another couple that I absolutely loved and completely ship! I’m not going to spoil it for anyone, but if you’ve read the first book, you know who I’m talking about 😉 As they were already there before Bree arrived, they didn’t need a lot of development from the author, so we just assumed they liked each other and as we didn’t see the beginning of it, it was easy to believe it.

Bree and Aleta’s friendship was something I loved even more! They started really badly in the first book, but now I could almost feel they acted like sisters – or, at the very least, very good friends.

“Didn’t want his mouth on anyone else?” I whisper innocently.

New characters were also introduced, and while I liked the majority of them – especially Lilia, – I found one particularly annoying and sometimes childish. 

Like previously mentioned, I enjoyed this book more that the first one. I think that is because there’s more action in this sequel, and as we have a dual POV instead of just Bree narrating, we cover more of the plot. I forgot to mention that this book is better organized: even between chapters we have little extra scenes or correspondence between characters that help us get a better notion of what’s happening. Again, the plot didn’t hold many surprises: we could understand what was going on before any other character could, but it was still a very satisfying read. It ended with a huge cliffhanger, so of course that I had to start the next book right away!!

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha


You can buy this book through

Book Depository 


marta2twitterig

One thought on “Riot of Storm and Smoke by Jennifer Ellision

Leave a Reply

