2016 Wrap Up

So here we are, already in 2017, all ready to read all those awesome books we’ve been planning to, whether they’re new releases or not. But before I start planning what I’m going to do, I need to do a recap of everything I read in 2016:

My Favorite Book

176173721

I read The Help by Kathryn Stockett last year and it easily became one of my all time favorite books!

My Biggest Disappointment 

17832311

If you have been following me for a few months, this is no surprise for you. Everytime people ask me my biggest disappointment, I answer with The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling. I didn’t have very high expectations for this, to begin with, and I already knew I’d probably not enjoy this as much I enjoyed Harry Potter, of course, but I didn’t expect to dislike it at all. I still want to try her other works, though.

DNF

I ended up DNF-ing two books this year, one of them being a Supernatural fanfiction that is listed on Goodreads – my friend Sofia told me to read it because it’s really good, and even though I never watched SPN (actually, I watched the first episode, Sophs made me do it haha), I gave it a try. I DNF-ed it because she was always giving me spoilers!! 😛 Then, I DNF-ed a book by a portuguese author, José Saramago, because I couldn’t get along with his writing.

I also started reading Demi Lovato’s book, one page per day, but I couldn’t keep up with that, so I gave up. It wasn’t exactly a DNF book because I had already read that book in previous years.

Series I Finished

Back in January, I started and finished The Selection trilogy by Kiera Cass, and in March I got City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare, that I read in April, finishing The Mortal Instruments series. In June, I read Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian, the last book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. And in December I started and finished the Threats of Sky and Sea trilogy by Jennifer Ellision.

Series I Started

I certainly started a lot of series this year, mostly thanks to Netgalley, with books such as Risuko: a Kunoichi Tale, A Wizard’s Forge, Weregirl, Black-Winged Tuesday, A Thousand Salt Kisses and The Blazing Star. None of these books have a second book in the series yet, as well as The Ugly Teapot and Broken – Despedaçada. The series that I started this year that already have more books are Red Queen, Maze Runner, Vampire Academy, Fantasy Lover, Touch the Dark, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Gregor the Overlander. I only read the first book in all those series.

Beautiful Covers

The Biggest Book I Read

According to Goodreads, it was The Host by Stephanie Meyer (670 pages).

The Smallest Book I Read

Quidditch Through the Ages by J.K. Rowling (105 pages).

My Favorite Book-To-Movie/Tv-Show Adaptation

Definitely Me Before You!! I loved the book and enjoyed the movie very much! Even though there are some scenes missing, some of them my favorites from the book, I think they did a great job bringing the story to life.

My Least Favorite Book-To-Movie/Tv-Show Adaptation

8b2dbd46-5b9d-405c-8ea5-dc76b264b670

I’ll have to answer with Shadowhunters. I still enjoy it, and I have a great time watching it, but I’d like to see more things similar to the books.

Huge Accomplishment

Besides creating my blog, I’d say finally reading classics that aren’t required reading for school, such as Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass and Pride and Prejudice. 

Lifestyle

2016 was a good (?) year for me, even though it really wasn’t for the world. 😦

I finished 11th grade, and I even had very good grades in my finals, and I started senior year in high school. I also visited a new country, so I’m very lucky. I started redecorating my room, what I’ve been wanting to do for years, and even though it’s not done yet, I’m very close. I created my bookstagram, blog, and twitter, completely joining the book community, and met wonderful people through those platforms!! I had also the chance of reading books before their release date and had the opportunity of taking part of blog tours and of making interviews. I’m extremely grateful for everything 2016 brought me but let’s hope 2017 will be better! 🙂


What are your best memories of 2016? 🙂

marta2twitterig

19 thoughts on “2016 Wrap Up

  1. Ola says:

    I’ve seen so many people dislike The Casual Vacancy, which is so weird for me. I loved this story, the mini series that was created was also great. I need to reread this book. Sorry to see that you didn’t like it as much as I did.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it!! 😀 Even though I enjoyed the plot, I just couldn’t like the characters, and that was what made me dislike the casual vacancy. I’ve heard about the mini series, but a friend told me that if I didn’t enjoy the book, I wouldn’t like it, what do you think? :/

      Like

    • Marta says:

      thank you so much!! 😀
      I’m really happy you had a fun time with your family!! Mine is pretty crazy too, but I don’t get to see them that much throughout the year, besides my brother, mom, dad, my uncle (dad’s brother) and granddad. That’s something I’d like to change this year!
      I hope you have more moments like those ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Azia says:

    Great post, Marta! I have yet to read OR watch The Help, but I keep hearing great things about it, which motivates me to bump it up my list 🙂 I hope you enjoy the Maze Runner series. I liked the first book the best, but I think it was a pretty solid series overall. I still need to read Fever Code, though! I freaking love The Host. I’m not sure why but I’ve re-read that book several times. I love the Mortal Instruments series, but I can’t watch the Shadowhunters series. A little too cheesy for me. And congrats on completely immersing yourself in the bookish community! I have yet to accomplish this, but I’m on my way! 😀 Hope all goes well for you this year ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Thanks Azia!! I wish you a great 2017 as well 😀 I actually only read the first Maze Runner book, and while I enjoyed it, I don’t think I’ll be reading the rest of the series. I just kind of lost my interest 😦 I wish I could have my own copy of the host to re read haha I’m watching shadowhunters, and I completely agree, it’s way too cheesy, but I’m hopeful they’ll eventually improve haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • Azia says:

        And that’s okay. Honestly, I think the Maze Runner movies are much more entertaining than the books haha. I have the entire series, but I’m not in a rush to finish the last/newest book. I’d say it’s a solid 3 star series 😀 And maybe I’ll give the show another shot. I wanna be there if it DOES improve haha. But I also want to see how they deal with some of my favorite characters further along in the story!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        IKR I really enjoyed the movies, and that’s why I’m not so upset about not finishing the series. I only think that Teresa should have a bigger role on the movies – after all, she was waaayyy more important in the book (the first one, at least 😛 )!! I’m always curious with what they’re doing with the show – I just don’t really like that sometimes they show scenes from the next books, someone who might be watching it & still reading the series wouldn’t enjoy being spoiled :/ They already released the first episode of the new season, but I haven’t watched it yet.

        Like

  3. Jasmine says:

    You’re a senior in high school this year? Busy year 😊 Know which college you want to go to? I have read the Host years ago. It’s a weird one haha. I couldn’t imagine the happenings 😂 I also hope to have time to read other books from JK Rowling this year. Too bad you didn’t like that book. How many books you read & reviewed in total?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      yes, I am haha I only have 5 subjects at school and my schedule is pretty good, but I have a lot to study, so I’m always so busy and tired :/ I don’t even want to think about the amount of study I’ll be doing next year 😛 I really want to apply for a college in a city that’s 2 hours away from mine, but I still need to talk about it with my parents, like really talk – they know that I want it, but if I’m moving away, we’ll need to discuss all my options.
      I want to read more JK Rowling too – maybe I’ll just check the library, I know they have quite a few books available. I read 71 books (and a half, because I couldn’t finish JUST ONE YEAR in time 😛 ) and I reviewed almost every book I read (I think I only didn’t review 2-3 books, and I used to write mini-reviews on goodreads before I created my blog).
      What about you? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

