Just One Year by Gayle Forman

Hello everyone, what are you up to do today? I’ll mostly catch up on my history study, but I really want to finish my current read and maybe even write its review. I’m feeling super motivated, and I need to enjoy while I don’t have tests or a lot to study :/


30819365

Title: Apenas Um Ano

(Just One Year, in English)

Author: Gayle Forman

Publisher: Editorial Presença

Number of Pages: 296

Language: Portuguese

Goodreads 

synopis

Just One Day. Just One Year. Just One Read.

Before you find out how their story ends, remember how it began….

When he opens his eyes, Willem doesn’t know where in the world he is—Prague or Dubrovnik or back in Amsterdam. All he knows is that he is once again alone, and that he needs to find a girl named Lulu. They shared one magical day in Paris, and something about that day—that girl—makes Willem wonder if they aren’t fated to be together. He travels all over the world, from Mexico to India, hoping to reconnect with her. But as months go by and Lulu remains elusive, Willem starts to question if the hand of fate is as strong as he’d thought. . . .

The romantic, emotional companion to Just One Day, this is a story of the choices we make and the accidents that happen—and the happiness we can find when the two intersect.

ondamyreview

Spoiler-Free

 

This book ended up being an even bigger disappointment than what I was expecting.

I loved – LOVED Just One Day by Gayle Forman. It’s not the best book ever written, of course, but it was cute and all that I needed back when I read it. I ended up giving it 5 stars – there’s a mini review available on goodreads. 

I already knew that I wouldn’t enjoy this as much as the first book, because

a) Willem wasn’t my favorite character to read about, and b) this was kinda of a repeat of the last year that Allyson described through her point of view. Even with such low expectations, this book surprised me, and not in a good way.

I found Willem extremely … I don’t even know the right word, annoying? That’s not quite it, but it’d have to do for now. What I found annoying wasn’t exactly him, but the way he made me feel with the book. I just couldn’t understand him, and couldn’t relate to him, and so his story became boring. It took me ages to finally finish the book, and I spent entire days without reading because I didn’t want to pick this up again – I only finished it because I forced myself to, basically. There’s also a lot of new characters here, and I was always so confused – I couldn’t say who was who. But that might have been because I was really uninterested!

There were times when I really was enjoying the book, mostly when Willem described his trips or when he was acting, but it wasn’t enough to make it up for me.

I’m really satisfied with how things turned out for Willem with his family, though.
However, I’m not so satisfied with that ending – it says a little bit more than what the end of Just One Day says, and by that time, I was confused again. I tried to re-read the last chapter of the previous book to see if I could place myself in the timeline, but it didn’t work out. Anyone here who has read Just One Day and could kindly recap the last chapters for me, please??

I’m really upset with this book. And also with the fact that there’s another ending to this story that supposedly was only published in ebook – why not just add it here??

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha e meia


You can buy this book through

Book Depository | Wook


Have you read Just One Day and Just One Year? What did you think about them? 🙂

marta2twitterig

4 thoughts on “Just One Year by Gayle Forman

  1. Azia says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy this book as much as you hoped you would 😦 I haven’t read a book by Gayle Forman, but I’ve heard generally good things about his works. I suppose I’ll be avoiding this one, though haha. I hope your next read is much more satisfying than this one was 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I’ve also read If I stay, and while I didn’t think it was as awesome as people kept tell me it was, I enjoyed it 😊 you should totally give just one day (the first book) a try – I loved it 😄
      Thanks!! I’m currently reading “Blue” by Lisa Glass and completely enjoying it 💖

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

