Air & Ride by Lisa Glass

Hey guys, I hope you’re having a great weekend! I’m spending mine studying Portuguese, because I have my first test of the term next Tuesday and there’s a lot to study. I hope I can manage some time to read πŸ™‚

Yesterday I stayed up until 2 am to finish Ride, so here are my reviews for the last two books of the Blue trilogy:
22540324

Title: Air (Blue, #2)

Author: Lisa Glass

Publisher: Quercus Books

Number of Pages:Β 340

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads

Careful – Might have spoilers!!

Being in a relationship with one of the hottest and most talented male surfers on the circuit is a dream come true… right?


Iris and Zeke get to travel to the most beautiful beaches in the world, competing in major surf competitions. Life should be perfect, but when Zeke is suspended from a surf tour in Hawaii, it’s clear there is some deep trouble in paradise. And then there’s Zeke’s romantic past: at every turn Iris is confronted by his old flames and his hordes of female fans.

Returning to Newquay, Iris finds that at home things have also changed. Her friends have moved on with their lives, and they sense Iris is keeping something – something bad – from them.

What really happened in Hawaii? Why was Zeke kicked off the circuit? And what secret is tearing Iris and Zeke’s relationship apart?

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

myreview

Spoiler-Free

Air doesn’t pick up after the end of Blue, the first book in this trilogy, and I think that was a good thing, because we’re just thrown in the middle of the action (so, no boring plot-filling parts) but we’re not left clueless either – there are a couple of throwbacks throughout the book to help you catch up with the story.

It was so different to see Iris and Zeke together in tour!! They were way more relaxed back in Newquay, and now they need to get used to each other’s presences all the time, doing things together, dealing with jealousy and other relationship issues. There was even a time when Iris felt she didn’t know Zeke anymore. I think the author did an awesome job describing all of it. Iris seemed more mature, somehow. She would do something really stupid, I’d be like “she’s being so hypocrite/stubborn/childish” and right after that, she’d say just what I did. I guess she was already like that in the first book, I just really realized it now. However, that is by no means an excuse for her childish behavior, but hey, we all have some bad days. One thing I absolutely loved about Iris had to do with her character development, and it is that she showed signs of being bothered by being called “my girl/babe/whatever” by Zeke. She didn’t do anything about it (yet, I hope), but it’s still some progress.

“I’d told myself I liked him calling me that, but I realized then that a tiny part of me had always rebelled, wanted to point out that I wasn’t anybody’s girl, no matter how hot that anybody happened to be, no matter how high his rank in the list of the world’s best wave riders.”

This book is so much more filled with drama than the first one. In Blue, we’d have huge descriptions of surfing and the contest, in Air … not so much. They’re still there, they just don’t fill as many pages. And I didn’t see it as a bad thing.

I still keep all of my thoughts about Blue, and they’re basically transferred to this book. Family and friends still held an important role, if not they’re not there personally, they use social media to keep in touch, AND THAT’S ANOTHER REASON WHY I LOVED AIR!! It was very modern, there’s a lot of references to social media, singers, movies, etc we all know about. The author also kept addressing problems that sometimes people have to deal with in their lives, and teenage issues, and did it in such an incredible way I just cannot stop thinking about them. I can think of at least one topic that was approached here where Iris made her position quite clear and didn’t take any other answer, even though she was being “pressured”. And that passes a really strong message, especially to young girls: the one that says that you have a say in the matter, even more so when it has to do with your own body.

THAT END – even though I was warned with “you’re not ready for that”, yep, I was so not ready for that! It was full of emotion, and it definitely broke my heart. It was left in a kind of a cliffhanger, so I just can’t wait to know what happens next!

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha


You can buy this book through

Book Depository


27396086

 

Title:Β Ride (Blue, #3)

Author: Lisa Glass

Publisher: Quercus Books

Number of Pages: 397

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads

Careful – Might have spoilers!!

The final instalment in this irresistible story of romance, sun and surf.

Seventeen-year-old Iris has returned to her hometown of Newquay. Leaving behind her promising surfing career. Leaving behind Zeke, the boy who changed her world.

She’s happy to get back to her old life, her friends and family. She wants to rediscover her passion for surfing.

But Iris soon realises it won’t be that simple. Because while summer romances might only last the season, first loves never truly leave you.

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

myreview

all spoilers are hidden

The second book ended upΒ being a good transition between the first and third books. You know when in a trilogy the second book is only there to fill space? Yeah, not Air. There’s new stuff happening in each book, and that’s what made me enjoy this trilogy so much.

Ride kept its focus on Iris – Β we see how much she has matured since the first book! It’s hard for me to explain my thoughts without spoiling some scenes, and if I don’t, I end up repeating myself: this book is very similar to the second one, because although Iris became more mature, she kept making mistakes (naturally), but addressed them right after. It’s also full of humor, as always, and references to pop culture. There’s also the approaching of life issues, that were handled perfectly, such as the end of a relationship, objectification of women (and also men), animals’ rights and a bit of vegetarianism, different types of relationships that every character had, and death.

But about Ride specifically:

It was great to see Kelly and Iris together again!! They are probably one of my favorite friendships of all the YA out there,Β  because they remind me a lot of my own friends. In the first book, they were super close, but in Air, they had to go in their own ways, and even though Kelly was still there for Iris (through social media), it’s not the same as being together in person.

Zeke and Iris aren’t exactly in the best of terms, but we get to explore that through more throwbacks and conversations Iris has with Kelly.

We get to see more of the old characters as well. Daniel never completely left throughout the three books, but he has a bigger role in here. I was really happy with him for the first half of the book, <spoiler> but then he showed his personality when he said “Thanks” to Iris after they had sex, and I understood that he never really changed </spoiler>. Cass is here too, and we get to know her better. I’m not Daniel’s or Cass’ biggest fan, but I’m satisfied with how it end for them. <spoiler> EXCEPT CARINA’S DEATH, I’m still not over it </spoiler>.

One of my favorite parts about the whole book has to be the relationship between brothers. Garrett, Wes and Zeke went through quite a bit in here, and yet they’re always there for each other.

Also, there’s more surf descriptions in Ride, which I have to admit that I missed a lot πŸ˜‚ This book was a complete page-turner, and while I wasn’t sure about the rate I would give, I’ve decided that 4,5 fits perfectly.

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha e meia


You can buy this book through

Book Depository


Have you read this trilogy? πŸ˜€

marta2twitterig

 

19 thoughts on “Air & Ride by Lisa Glass

    • Marta says:

      I’m from Portugal, that’s why ^^ I don’t think I’d choose Portuguese as an extra languague, to be honest, because even though I love it and think it’s beautiful, there’s a lot of grammar to learn, and some experts even say it’s one of the most difficult languages to learn :/
      I only study English at school now, but from 7th grade to 9th grade, I had French classes at school – I still remember a little. And I have German classes outside school πŸ™‚
      And out of curiosity, what about you? πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jasmine says:

        Besides English, I also know Vietnamese. I took a class in Chinese and know the basics. I took 2 years of Spanish in High School and remembered a bit. But those two can’t really help me carry through a conversation or anything.. haha.. If learn another language to speak for fun, it may be easier than learning the grammars for writing. That’s too technical and I too, would feel overwhelm πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        Those are such cool languages!! One day I’d like to learn Chinese too haha
        I get it, I also only remember the basics of French, and it’s not enough to keep a conversation πŸ˜›
        There’s an app called Memrise that I’ve using to relearn French, and it’s pretty cool when you just want to learn for fun, because it doesn’t get too deep into detail. Grammar is my least favorite part about learning a new language, I prefer to learn the words haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jasmine says:

        Me too! I don’t like learning grammar at all… haha.. You are from Portugal, so is that language you are born with? Or you just grow up learning only English? I will look into that app. Thanks for mentioning it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        Yeah, first language we learn is Portuguese πŸ™‚ The other languages, it depends. For example, I only started having english classes at school when I reached 4th grade, I believe, but they already changed that – my younger brother has english classes at school since his 2nd grade. When we reach 7th grade, we add another language: usually French or Spanish, some schools offer both and students can choose, mine didn’t, so I only had French. I think some schools also offer German. And then, depending on our high school subject choices, we get to continue (or not) those language classes.
        Anytime πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Azia says:

    Ah this trilogy sounds wonderful! Iris seems like a really strong female protagonist. I’m glad that both books were well-written and gave great focus to character development and thematic elements. I love it when an author creates a believable relationship with believable characters πŸ˜€ I’m actually really looking forward to this series now! Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

