Wrap Up: Jan ’17

Hey there! ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t believe we’re already at the end of January, but I hope you guys had a good month. I know January was an exam month for a few of you, so let me know if you survived ๐Ÿ˜›

Today I’m writing and posting my wrap up! I’ve come to the conclusion that the way I used to write my previous wrap-ups didn’t quite work for me, because these posts take me a lot of time to edit and I just couldn’t put myself to update them every weekend. So I’m trying to make them simple and short, at the same time that I show the same content (and even more). So let me know what you think about it ^^

What’s Going On With Me?

January: back to school for the second term. I’ve been busy trying to get everything together again! I made a new planner, one that includes everything I need, from to-do lists to bookstagram calendars, haha. I’ve been trying to stick to my blogging schedule, even though I missed an entire week this month. I’ve been keeping up with Shadowhunters. I watched Yuri on Ice. I’ve been studying. I had my first test today, and now I’ll have to prepare myself for my next one: History. And I’ve been reading. That’s pretty much everything about my monthย ๐Ÿ˜›

Books I Received

I didn’t buy any books this month and the only one I got from Netgalley was A Thousand Salt Kisses Later by Josie Demuth, and only because it’s the sequel to a book I read last year ๐Ÿ™‚

Books I Read

Four books isn’t a bad number at all, but inย last year, January was one of my best reading months, I think I read around 10 books. And while I was busier this year than what I had been last January, I still hoped I could get a lot of reading done.

Just One Year by Gayle Forman – 2,5ย ๐Ÿ’ซ

I had started this book in December, but only finished it this month and it was just a huge disappointment. After loving the first book, I expected more from this. I’m not even sure if I’ll get around to the last book, which is just an e-book.

Blue trilogy by Lisa Glass { Blue, Air & Ride } – 4,5 / 4 / 4,5ย ๐Ÿ’ซ

Very enjoyable, definitely relatable!! Iris and Kelly’s friendship was one of my favorite parts, along with Iris development as a character. It was also amazing to read about surf, and a few diverse characters.

Posts You Might Have Missed

Currently Reading

28389305

I’m currently reading Marie Benedict’s The Other Einstein and enjoying it so far – I’m already at 40% of the book.

Movies I’ve Watchedย 

Instead of searching for the posters (which takes me an awful amount of time, because not every picture uploads *sigh*), I’m only listing them:

  • Star Wars episode V
  • Star Wars episode I
  • Beyond Borders (for my Geography class)
  • The Bling Ringย 

February TBR

I don’t usually share my TBR lists, even though I always set them, so I decided to change that and start sharing with you what I’m planning on reading:

As soon as I finish The Other Einstein, I’ll be focusing on my books from Netgalley! I’m planning on reading A Mortal Song and The One That Got Away. There’s also two more Netgalley books I’d like to read this month, but I’m not sure if I’ll have the time to get to them, so I’m keeping my TBR goal reachable. I have to read Memorial do Convento (Baltasar and Blimunda, in English) by Josรฉ Saramago for my Portuguese class.


And that’s it for this month! What did you do this month? ๐Ÿ™‚

marta2twitterig

15 thoughts on “Wrap Up: Jan ’17

  1. Bookneeders says:

    I started to laugh when I encountered O Memorial do Convento hahaha It’s not very common to see it so I wasn’t expecting it ๐Ÿ˜› I actually really liked that book. I couldn’t really go with Os Maias argh I just couldn’t – way too much description for me. But that one is actually pretty interesting! … Just One Year seems to disappoint the majority… I haven’t even started the trilogy but I really wanted to read at least the first one… I may give Blue a go. I never read any book talking about surf so that should be interesting! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I’ve only read 2 chapters of O Memorial do Convento so far, so I can’t say much, but I really hope I enjoy it, because I tried to read A Histรณria do Cerco de Lisboa and ended up dnf-ing it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I actually liked Os Maias, it had a lot of description and those parts were boring, yes, but I enjoyed analyzing it in class.
      Just One Day was amazing, Just One Year not so much. At least I’m glad I’m not the only one thinking that haha
      IKR it’s so different, but it was very nice!! If you end up reading it, I’d love to know your opinion ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  2. Azia says:

    Ah I love this post set-up! Easy to read and I love what you included ๐Ÿ™‚ WHAT DID YOU THINK OF YURI ON ICE?? I must know LOL. Also, it’s great that you’ve kept things organized. I’ve failed hard at that this month haha. I read 4 books as well! I’m glad you enjoyed 3 out of the 4 you managed to read. And your February TBR is looking good. I’ve been wanting to read A Mortal Song since it was published but i just haven’t gotten around to it. I’d love to see what you think of it! I hope your February is goes wonderfully!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Thanks for giving me your opinion, Azia โค
      I LOVED YURI ON ICE, I was always like "WHEN ARE THOSE TWO GOING TO KISS?" haha
      My organization is always a work in progress, everytime I think I have everything under control, something happens ๐Ÿ˜›
      I got A Mortal Song from Netgalley, and it has been there for a few weeks. I had wanted to read it in December, but I just didn't have the time ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I'll hopefully start it this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks, I hope yours is great too โค โค

      Liked by 1 person

      • Azia says:

        YAYYYY!!! I loved it, too!! I was so happy when they DID kiss. Also when they exchanged the rings! My heart couldn’t take it haha. SO SWEET. Can’t wait for season 2.
        And organization is such a tricky thing haha. One moment you’re on top of things and then the next… LOL
        Hope you enjoy A Mortal Song. Looking forward to reading your review on it! ๐Ÿ™‚
        Thank you! โค

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        I WAS SO CONFUSED, because I wasn’t sure if they actually kissed or not, one of my friends said they did, and another said they didn’t haha I loved it too โค
        Same, right now for example – last Thursday I had a test and so, before the test, I didn't check wordpress, but I haven't checked it for the last three days either (I DON'T KNOW WHY) so now I have a lot to catch up with: blog, bookstagram and school (*please send help*)
        Thank you! โค If I have time, I'll try to start reading it tonight. If I don't, I'll probably stay up a couple of extra hours so that I can at least read the first chapters haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Azia says:

        Okay, that was me too LOL. I had to look up some articles to see what really happened. But yeah! They kissed! When it looked like Victor was just hugging him, it was actually a kiss. Which makes more sense if you take in the crowd’s reaction haha
        Oh goodness, haha. Good luck in getting everything back in order. I’ll be over here drowning in my own lack of organization, too haha. I’ve definitely got to do some more blog-hopping this week.
        And yay! The life of a bookworm ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope you enjoy it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

