The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel

29417325

Title: The One That Got Away

Author: Melissa Pimentel

Publisher: Penguin

Number of Pages: 352

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads

Ruby and Ethan were perfect for each other. Until the day they suddenly weren’t.

Now, ten years later, Ruby is single, having spent the last decade focusing on her demanding career and hectic life in Manhattan. There’s barely time for a trip to England for her little sister’s wedding. And there’s certainly not time to think about what it will be like to see Ethan again, who just so happens to be the best man.

But as the family frantically prepare for the big day, Ruby can’t help but wonder if she made the right choice all those years ago. Because there is nothing like a wedding for stirring up the past . . .

onda

I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.Β myreview

the spoilers are all hidden

This review has proven to be a little more difficult for me to write. I enjoyed the book (kinda), but I had no idea where to start writing it, so I decided to only state what I liked, what I didn’t, and what was okay. It was a helpful way to get this task done, and one that I’ll definitely try again in future reviews πŸ˜›

Things I liked:

  • The first part of the story.Β 

The first chapters were super funny to read. Everything was going wrongΒ on the day of the first chapter for Ruby, and we could already tell the type of personality her sister had. It felt like a romantic comedy movie to me, and honestly, that’s what I was expecting.

  • It’s a very light read.

The writing is easy to follow, the plot is simple and most characters are enjoyable to read about. I didn’t have any major problems with the book, which was great because I’ve been so busy this week that I only found time to read at 1 am.

  • I liked the fact that Ruby focused on her career.

No explanation needed, I believe.

  • I also truly liked Ruby’s attitude towards her life in the last chapters.

You’re the one who should make the best decisions for your life and it’s okay to admit that something didn’t work out as you expected it would be.

Things I didn’t like:

  • Messy family bonds

Like, everyone is really happy at the wedding and all, but <spoiler> where were they when Ruby decided not to show up for Christmas? When she shut everyone out? </spoiler>

  • The story is kinda clichΓ©

Remember me saying the plot is simple? Yeah, nothing against it, I just eventually guessed almost everything that would happen.

  • The way the book was divided

I loved that I got to know the “then”‘s and “now”‘s of their story, but (and I’m not sure if this wasn’t a problem with my edition only) some parts weren’t identified so I’d often find myself lost in the plot. There were also emails between the chapters, which I liked, but honestly, I didn’t understand half of them.

  • The plot twist came too late

I was really interested in knowing what had happened, but it took me so long to find out that then it didn’t have such a strong impact on me. I’d have liked a few chapters between Ruby telling it to the readers and Ruby telling it to Ethan.

  • The end is very abrupt

I liked the end, even though I already knew how it would be, but there isn’t much about it. Perhaps anΒ epilogue would have been nice.

Okay Things:

  • The Romance.

Simple and clichΓ©, but still enjoyable. It was nice to see them in their twenties and then as adults. I liked Ruby and Ethan’s development as characters, but Ethan was a hard character to read.

  • Light humor.

This book wasn’t made to hold huge jokes or puns, but Ruby was quite funny and her humor made me smile a couple of times.

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha

I’d recommend this book perhaps for Jane Austen fans? Apparently, this is a Persuasion retelling, but I haven’t read that book, so I can’t tell for sure (and I can’t say how similar to the book it is).


You can buy this book through

Book Depository


marta2twitterig

10 thoughts on “The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel

    • Marta says:

      Thank you so much!! ❀
      Yeah, I know the feeling haha I don't regret reading this book, but I don't think that I'd have read it if I had seen a review like mine out there …
      I've only read Pride and Prejudice so far, but I'm interested in reading her other works, so please let me know if you find Persuasion a good one πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

