Wrap Up: Feb ’17

Hello everyone, here we are for my usual monthly post, haha. Let’s see how my month went! 😛

What’s Going On With Me?

February was a nice month. I didn’t have a lot of tests, and I didn’t have any essay to deliver, but I had to plan my tests and essays for March, and guys – I’m already dreading next month! But still this month, I managed to keep my promise of posting twice a week. (proud). I also re-started the project of deep cleaning my room: I donated a lot of clothes and threw away other stuff. I’m not done yet, but I’m getting there! One of the things I also did this month (but it honestly seems like a lot more time ago) was cleaning my social media: deleting facebook friends that I don’t care about (people from my old and current school that are only looking for drama all the time, for example) and unfollowing some people. It’s still a work in progress …

Books I Received 

Again, I didn’t buy any book. I’m doing fine with my half book ban haha “Half” because I still requested a couple of books from Netgalley and was approved for Queens of Geek and Internet Famous.

Books I Read

Seems like my average of books read per month is four! A book a week is the most I can manage during school months 😦

 

The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict – 3,5 💫

A voice that was silenced, like many others throughout history. Albert Einstein’s first wife’s life (even though as fiction) was very interesting, and while I enjoyed it and thought there was great character development, I still couldn’t understand some of the decisions that were taken here. I also found the pace a bit slow.

A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe – 4 💫

Original, amazing and full of action! Reading about Sora was a relief after reading about so many other characters that find out they’re the chosen ones. The romance wasn’t particularly interesting to me, as there was kind of a love triangle and insta love – and this would have been a perfect book without any love interest, believe me!

The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel – 3 💫

This is a very light and entertaining read, but get ready for the clichés! Honestly, I wouldn’t have minded those so much if the plot twist had actually pleased me. The first chapters were the best part – they reminded me of a romantic comedy movie!

A Thousand Salt Kisses Later by Josie Demuth – 2 💫

I only read this one because it was a sequel, honestly, and I expected more. It gave me something that I wanted to see in the first book, but the rest was just disappointing. I’ll post my full review soon!

Posts You Might Have Missed

Currently Reading

1507-1

Still stuck with Memorial do Convento by José Saramago, that I’m reading for my Portuguese class. I managed to read 89 pages, but the story didn’t catch my attention and so I eventually gave up for the month. But I really have to finish it.

Movies I’ve Watched 

  • Selma (during English class)
  • Moana (I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT <3)
  • and I re-watched The Princess Diaries at some point this month

March TBR

So we’re about to reach my birthday month, and I really want to read books I’m OVER THE MOON EXCITED to read!! And those are:

I’ve had The Blood of Olympus on my shelf for a few weeks now, I borrowed it from my best friend and I’m sure she wants it back 😛 Also, after the books I read this book (most were 2-3 stars for me), I really need to read any Rick Riordan book. Queens of Geek is coming out in March, so I want to read it at the same time that I need to read it, haha. And I’ll read Only Ever Yours because I’ve wanted to read that book for such a long time, and I’ll take my opportunity this month!


How was your February? What books are you planning on reading in March? 🙂

marta2

twitterig

5 thoughts on “Wrap Up: Feb ’17

  1. kmorrison04 says:

    Hi! I love Moana too! It is incredible and the music is so good. It’s awesome. I am wanting to read A Mortal Song but I am not a fan of instalove and triangles. But you say it’s good even despite of that so I may still read it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      hii! 😀
      Moana was so good, I still can’t believe How Far I’ll Go didn’t win Best Original Song 😦
      I feel the same way when people tell me that there’s a love triangle in a book haha but if I just *forget* about it, the book is good, so I’d give it a try 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I’ve only read the first chapter of Queens of Geek so far, so I can’t say much really haha But I’m excited to pick it up again!!
      I hope you enjoy A Mortal Song if you ever decide to read it 🙂 Thanks and happy reading for you too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

