T5W Science Fiction and Fantasy

It has been too long since my last Top 5 Wednesday and I admit that I’ve missed writing them! I haven’t had much free time lately to do anything really, like reading or think of posts to write, so when I saw this theme I thought it was my opportunity!

I’m pretty sure most of you already know the titles I’m about to mention, whether because they’re quite popular or because I can’t stop talking about them πŸ˜‚Β But today I’m bringing you some Science Fiction and Fantasy recommendations aka my Top 5 of Science Fiction and Fantasy books (this is more of a personal list of favorites).

7683903

I’ve been even more obsessed with Percy Jackson ever since I finished The Blood of Olympus, a few days ago. Every time I share a picture of the books, there’s someone who says that they haven’t read them and I immediately start urging them to, because they’re fantastic! They only get better with each book and the sequel series, The Heroes of Olympus, is AMAZING ❀

 

 

 

 

 

onda

 

 

 

6571893

 

I read The Host because I was such a big Twilight fan back in 7th grade and I missed the author’s writing. And this one is so much better, so if even you didn’t enjoy Twilight, please give this one a try – it’s so different and I’d almost never tell they were written by the same author. I got The Host from the library to read, but this is one of these books that I really want to keep on my shelf πŸ˜€

 

 

 

 

onda

 

256683

 

 

The Mortal Instruments and any other Shadowhunter content has been my obsession since 9th grade. I get it that a lot of people can’t get past the first book, and they have a lot of problems with the series, but I personally enjoyed them very much. I haven’t made my way through all the Shadowhunter books, though, but I’m working on it haha

 

 

 

onda

 

17162156

 

I loved Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children because of its unique characters, but even though my rating was extremely high (I was driven by emotions πŸ˜› ) I still think the first book is lacking something. I’d have to read the rest of the trilogy, but it still makes it to my Top 5 ^^

 

 

 

onda

 

 

8506681

 

 

I read Coraline last year around Halloween and I loved it! It was so creepy, but I couldn’t put it down.

 

 

 

 

Most of these books are Fantasy because I don’t read a lot of Science Fiction – something I’d actually like to change, and I already have quite a few Science Fiction books on my TBR and wishlist πŸ˜›

What about you? What are your favorite Science Fiction and Fantasy books? πŸ˜€


marta2twitterig

14 thoughts on “T5W Science Fiction and Fantasy

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    My first introduction to Coraline was the movie and OH MY GOD I was super scared. I’m a scaredy-cat, though, and would freak out over the tiniest things. πŸ˜›

    I also liked the Percy Jackson series, but they always strike me as very… young? Like compared to the general MG/YA it was just fun and entertaining, but not with a lot of depth (that’s not to say that this is a bad thing).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Most of my friends were shocked when I told them that I had never watched Coraline, so I decided to give it a go last Halloween (seemed fitting haha) and both the book and the movie were sooo creepy. I personally don’t enjoy horror movies because I can be easily scared too. Coraline is meant for kids, but still πŸ˜›
      It has been a while since I read the first Percy Jackson books, so I don’t really remember if I found them young. Have you read the heroes of olympus series, tho? πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. the crazy reader says:

    I loved Coraline! I read it at primary school and it was pretty dark for the little me. πŸ˜‚ Can’t say the same for Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Home though. I had to push myself through the series (because I had bought the whole series for the movie release). Percy Jackson is so great! The Lost Hero is at the top of my TBR list. πŸ€“ I was actually a little bit hesitant to read The Host but I decided I would give it a try anyway!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like Miss Peregrine 😦 I haven’t watched the movie yet because I want to read the entire trilogy first (and, let’s admit it, that is going to take me a bit) but I really enjoyed the first one.
      Coraline scared me a bit too, but I was 17 at the time, and so I wasn’t a primary school student haha
      PERCY JACKSON, YAAS ❀ YOU HAVE TO READ IT, IT ONLY GETS BETTER, I'VE RECENTLY FINISHED THE BLOOD OF OLYMPUS AND and and and you know haha
      Have you already read The Host, then? πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

