Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Hello everyone!! 😀

Due to lack of time, today’s review is short, simple and perhaps even confusing, but I hope I manage to convince you to read this book, because it’s really really good!! ❤

28245707

 

Title: Queens of Geek

Author: Jen Wilde

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Number of pages: 288

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Jason Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

onda

I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

myreview

Spoiler-Free

What else did you want me to rate this book if not with five stars? I ABSOLUTELY ADORED IT, and seriously guys, there’s nothing here – nothing, I repeat – that I disliked in the slightest.

With me loving this book, here comes the hard part … reviewing it. Because, honestly, fkjdlqdmnergfwjd (that’s how I feel). This book will put a smile on your face IMEDDIATLY, so go read it now! It took me some time to go from the first chapter to the second because I was quite busy, but as soon as I reached 10% of the book, I was all in. I read it all in one day, basically!

I just loved this book! Have I already mentioned that? 😂 I loved everything here, the characters, the setting, and the plot! I loved the development and the backstory of each character, and I fell in love with each one of their personalities! Except, of course, Reese – he’s an asshole. But I loved everyone else! Choosing a favorite character would be hard, as all of them kind of compliment each other. Taylor keeps a fandom blog, and I loved how she treated herself – even though she struggles with her anxiety (which, by the way, I thought was very well explored), she learns to recognize her value and gives this body positivity message. Jaimie is just precious, and I’d often quote him to my friends while reading the book. And Charlie surprised me so much with her character, but she’s another character who knows her value, and she grew so much and learned how to not let others get her down. And the three of them share such a unique friendship, they were always there for each other, both for cheering and for support. The other characters were really good too, I maybe disliked the mean fans and the intrusive interviewers, but they were important for us to get an insight into Charlie’s world, and so they’re fine. But the others – more friendship (even as total strangers)!!!! They were all so cute and adorkable 😛 Also, the romances!! I thought it would be hard for me to enjoy any relationship in this book, because SupaCon only lasts a couple of days and I wouldn’t want to read anything insta-love – I was totally wrong! Like I already mentioned – they were all super cute, and it wasn’t insta-love at all, they have all the reasons to like each other, and *YES!!*

The writing was a bonus point too: easy to fly through, full of words and expressions I use on a daily basis, and good humor based on pop culture, what else could you ask for? 😛

I’m sorry this review might seem confusing – I can’t find the right words and it’s already quite late, so my brain isn’t working properly. But, summing it all up: I loved it and recommend it! It’s one of those books I read as an e-book but would love to own in physical copy, because I just want to see it on my shelf, remind myself of all the things I loved and smile again. It’ll definitely be one of my favorite reads of this year! 😀

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha


You can pre-order this book through

Book Depository


marta2twitterig

18 thoughts on “Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

  1. Shoto says:

    I loved this so much! The characters were all so adorkable and the setting was like a fangirl’s dream 😀 I loved Taylor and Jamie, they were so cute! And Charlie was so great too. I also really enjoyed all the pop culture references. This book was just great ❤
    Loved your review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Ahhh so happy that all the reviews I’ve read for this book seem to be really positive! Fandom is a huge hobby of mine, but many fandom books have failed me before and I’m wary of anything from Swoon Reads as they tend to be not my kind of book at all. However, this one does seem to be a lot better – all the things you said about the characters and the writing sound convincing to me and I can’t wait to pick this up eventually. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      aww, I can’t wait to know your thoughts ❤ I know right, I love being part of fandoms too, and that's what made me want to read this book. It didn't disappoint at all 😀
      I also read All the Feels by Danika Stone (it was published by Swoon Reads too) and it was enjoyable as well, but I found a couple of things I didn't like there :/

      Like

      • Reg @ She Latitude says:

        Eep, incidentally, All the Feels was the book that turned me off Swoon Reads, haha. I just disliked Xander and the female protagonist (I forgot her name, oops – was it Liv?) so bad. It was also kinda problematic at some parts. :/

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        Oops, my bad then. I don’t remember a lot of details from it, I have a terrible memory!! What did you think was problematic? :/
        I thought Liv was okay, but I didn’t like Xander either. His comments about Liv’s body bothered me too much, and I think they’d be better off as friends anyway …

        Like

  3. Jasmine says:

    Excellent review Marta! even when the book leave you speechless 🙂 I have seen this book floating around and didn’t think to read it. I’m glad it’s a good book. I might have to add it to my TBR 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

