Wrap Up: Mar ’17

Here’s one more monthly wrap up, where I finally explain why I haven’t been around. :/

What’s Going On With Me?

Did you notice anything in common in all of my March posts? 😂

” … I just didn’t have much time.” – March 4th

” … I haven’t had much free time lately.” – March 8th

“Due to lack of time, …” – March 11th

” … I’ve been a bit inactive lately.” – March 18th

I’m tired of my own words! I’m so sorry! But it doesn’t make it less true, though. March was crazy! The only way I managed to post was because I had some things pre-written, and yet I even missed an entire week. Between tests, homework, essays and presentations, I barely had time to breathe, but I really needed to make time to read to escape all the stress – and ended up messing up my sleep schedule (more than what it already was, anyway). Summing up: it was a disaster and I’m tired. I need to sleep through an entire weekend now! But I still have one last essay to deliver on Monday and one test on the Saturday after, so I don’t see any possible rest in the near future.

The only good thing (and it was a really good one) that March brought me was my birthday. I had a lovely day, and I’m insanely happy with how it went! ❤

Books I Received

The best part about my birthday is that my friends know I’m a reader, and so give me books haha Just kidding, maybe that’s not the best part 😛 But it certainly is a good one!

So I got Confess by Colleen Hoover, Little Women by Louisa May Alcott (in a beautiful edition!), Ransom by Danielle Steel and the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them screenplay

And I got these from Netgalley:

Geekerella by Ashley Poston, The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares and Project You: More than 50 ways to Calm Down, De-Stress and Feel Great by Aubre Andrus. I requested that last one just to try out, because, as I mentioned above, stress has been taking me over!

Books I Read

Even though I didn’t have much free time, I made that time to read. In the first weeks, it was cool, I had everything under control, but then … well, not so much.

titles usually lead to reviews

The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan – 5 💫

What else other than 5 stars? Riordan’s books never disappoint, and I love both Percy Jackson and The Heroes of Olympus series way too much. There’s not much to say without spoiling something, and even if it’s short, there’s a review on the way 😛

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde – 5 💫

kjdlmnajfpdwck – that’s how I still feel about the book! It was SO great, and I couldn’t express my emotions properly in my review. I tried, though. 😂

Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill – 4 💫

I’m still thinking about this book, and I’m pretty sure I’ll think about it for a long, long time. The story was very disturbing, but at the same time, it was necessary. It was hard to read at some points, but I’m glad I did so! Didn’t disappoint either. Full review coming soon!

Geekerella by Ashley Poston – 4 💫

Who doesn’t love retellings? I love them; and this one, mixed with fandom, was so good! There were times when it was kinda cheesy, that’s why I didn’t think of giving it 5 stars, but it’s still very enjoyable. Full review coming tomorrow!

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare – 4 💫

I really want to finish the trilogy before I write a review for all of them, but for now, I can say that I finally understand what the fuss is all about haha My rating might change after I read Clockwork Prince and Clockwork Princess.

Felizmente Há Luar! by Luís de Sttau Monteiro – 4 💫

I had to read this one for school, it’s a play I’m currently studying in class. It’s a very short book, so it was a quick read, and it was actually quite entertaining.

Posts You Might Have Missed

not that I posted that many

 

Currently Reading 

1507-1

 

 

I had to return the book to the library in February, after not finishing it in four weeks, and I didn’t read any of it in March. Now I went to the library again to pick it up, and I *really* need to finish it during the school break, otherwise I won’t have it read before we start studying it in class. :/

 

 

Movies I’ve Watched

  • Schindler’s List (in History class)
  • Chocolat (in English class) – even though we didn’t finish watching it 

April TBR 

 

Finish Memorial do Convento, by José Saramago, and read The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares, Textrovert by Lindsey Summers and Someone Else’s Summer by Rachel Bateman. And hopefully, a few more. Let’s see!


How was March for you? Stressful like mine, or a bit more light? Did you enjoy the books you read? I really want to catch up with all of you and see what I’ve been missing 🙂

marta2

twitterig

15 thoughts on “Wrap Up: Mar ’17

  1. JoanaDuarte says:

    I want to read Queens of the Geek so desperately! >.< Also, can't wait to read your thoughts on Only Ever Yours. I never heard of it, but I went to check out the synopsis and it's quite interesting in a messed up way! Hope this month is less stressful for you! 🙂 Happy readings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

