Geekerella by Ashley Poston

I’M SO SORRY FOR MY ABSENCE, GUYS! I honestly could fill an entire post just telling you about the craziness that school has been, with all extra homework and essays, but it wouldn’t be worth it (check yesterday’s post for more details, though). I’m really upset I’m missing on your posts – even if I do a blog hop after school is over, I won’t be able to read all of it :/ I’m just glad that I’ll have a little more time after next Tuesday, that’ll be an opportunity to try to catch up.

The only reason why I’m able to post today is because I pre-wrote this, and I only had to edit the post. It’s kinda short, but I hope you still enjoy it. 🙂

30201136

 

Title: Geekerella

Author: Ashley Poston

Publisher: Quirk Books

Number of Pages: 320

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads

Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. But when she disappears at midnight, will he ever be able to find her again?

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.

onda

I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

myreview

All Spoilers Are Hidden

I think I’m getting more and more addicted to fandom stories. They’re just so much relatable and funny and adorable and ajwoqmwfrwvkwdojef This one wasn’t different – even though it was slightly different (makes total sense, right?).

I didn’t find Ella an anxious character, for example. Unlike Taylor from Queens of Geek, that struggled with anxiety in a different way, Ella only had doubts before important moments. And that was a nice change, because not every fangirl/fanboy is the same. She was also a strong character, brave, and kind (or in her way to be).

Resultado de imagem para cinderella live action cinderella's mother gif

Her story was so “same” as well. Getting annoyed with the wrong casting? Actors not caring and not doing a good job? Sounds like a lot of us on a daily basis 😂

Prince Charming, oops Darien, was soooo so real. A fanboy who had to hide his geekiness! He was adorable, but most of the cheesy lines that most annoyed me came from him.

My favorite character has to be Sage, though. She’s so straightforward and never left anyone behind.

As a Cinderella retelling, you could tell almost everything that would happen. It didn’t make it any less exciting, though. You have the evil stepmother (and a reason for why the woman doesn’t like Elle, as crazy as it might be), mean stepsisters (but I really liked them as characters and I wouldn’t mind a story from Cal’s POV), the costumes, the ball …

The only things I didn’t quite enjoy were:

1) all that cheesiness – sometimes it was cute, sometimes it was annoying
2) the lack of information between the last chapter and the epilogue – I just wanted a little bit more

But one of my favorite scenes was at (almost) the end, <spoiler> when James, Cal, and Sage started sharing the video of Darien and Ella kissing – huge awwwww </spoiler>.
Overall, it was really entertaining!

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha


You can get this book from

Book Depository 


Have you read Geekerella? What did you think of it?

And how have you been lately? Let’s chat! 😀

marta2twitterig

9 thoughts on “Geekerella by Ashley Poston

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    This seems like a cute book! I’m always on the lookout for fandom books as well because they are raaaare and some of them have been more misses than hits for me, but I like the sound of this one. I’m not too sure about the cheesiness, though… that usually makes me cringe as well. How often would you say that’s a problem for you reading this book? 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      If I have to say a number of cheesy moments, I’d say around 5 times ?? I wasn’t exactly counting, and perhaps what I thought to be cheesy might not bother you as much, or you might find other things annoying. :/ But it’s really cute! I could almost forgive its cheesiness haha I think it’s worth a try anyway, you’ll never know, right? Or maybe try checking more reviews, they might help :/
      If you end up reading it, I’d love to know your thoughts about it 😀

      Like

      • Reg @ She Latitude says:

        So true! I guess it’s all really subjective. And thank you – I might give this a chance eventually (i.e. not anytime soon). I’ve got so many books and so little time, so anything I’m tentative about will just need to take a backseat. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        I get the feeling and even do the same 😛 There are so many books out there that seem AMAZING, but I know that I’ll probably never get around to read them 😦
        Anyway, if you end up reading it, I hope you enjoy it 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

