Textrovert by Lindsey Summers

30960329

Title: Textrovert

Author: Lindsey Summers

Publisher: Kids Can Press

Number of Pages: 300

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads

It’s bad enough when high-school senior Keeley grabs the wrong phone while leaving her small town’s end-of-summer fair. It’s even worse when she discovers that the phone she now has belongs to the obnoxious, self-centered Talon and that he’s just left for football camp … with her phone. Reluctantly, the two agree to forward messages for a week. And as Keeley gets to know Talon, she starts to like him. Keeley learns there’s more to Talon than the egocentric jock most people see. There’s more to Keeley, too. Texting Talon, she can step out of the shadow of her popular twin brother. Texting Talon, she can be the person she’s always wanted to be.
Sparks fly when the two finally meet to exchange their phones. But while Keeley has been playing a part online, Talon has been keeping a secret. He has a different connection to Keeley — one that has nothing to do with phones, and one that will make their new relationship all but impossible. Knowing what she now knows, can Keeley trust him? And can love in the present erase mistakes of the past?

I received a book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

ondamyreview

I didn’t hide any possible spoilers, but no major things are revealed. 

Textrovert has a nice idea, but I didn’t feel that it was well explored. I had a little fun reading this book, but I would have enjoyed it just as much if I had read it on Wattpad. I’m beyond happy the author got to have her book published after her adventure on Wattpad, but still, it should have been more edited … perhaps? I don’t know, the ratings on Goodreads are pretty high for this book, and I almost feel bad for giving a low rating, but even though I enjoyed it a little, mostly for being a quick read, I’ve read better, and this felt rather mediocre at the end.

What annoyed me the most wasn’t even in the plot, but rather on the structure of the book itself. This book is full of texts, of course, but they weren’t properly identified, which made me have to guess who was who. My copy was also full of typos (sometimes more than five per page). Needless to say, this kinda ruined my reading experience, even if it won’t bother anyone else because they own different (and finished) editions.

But about the story now. This didn’t seem like a story with seventeen-year-old teenagers as characters. Keeley seemed much younger than what she actually was sometimes, whining every here and there, and c’mon, who is irresponsible enough to lose that many phones? If it had happened to me, my parents would have killed me. Okay, maybe not so dramatic, but they wouldn’t have given me a new one so easily. Her best friend, Nicki, also drove me mad, that girl was so selfish! Her reasons to push Keeley away were completely childish and she kept ditching her for “better” plans. What kind of friend is that? Talon and Zach had their quota part of childishness too.

Zach and Keeley’s relationship as siblings seemed unrealistic to me. Zach was always counting on Keeley to do everything for him, and then he even got her that college tour that she did not want just so he could have her around, and that seemed incredibly selfish. How could he be so blind? And then, of course, things get better at the end of the book, and they’re the best siblings again, and he’s covering for her just like she did for him so many times before. You know what’s missing here? Development. 

Same thing with the relationship between Keeley and Talon. It was sooooo cheesy. The pick-up lines, the “girl changes because of boy” attitude, and all those other little things. It deeply annoyed me! There are some pages/scenes that should have been added for this to be more credible, for them to have more time to get to know each other. I felt like I didn’t know who they were, and suddenly, they were kissing. 

Also, every plot twist? Predictable, unfortunately, and very cheesy.

The intention of this book was probably to show second chances are worth it, and while I’m quite relieved the story had a happy ending for the main couple, I’m also not sure if I’d have made the same choice Keeley did. I understand Talon’s rage, but what he did was still pretty messed up. More time to deliberate wouldn’t have been too much, maybe?

Claire is the true heroine here, though. She was the one who made a mistake, paid deeply for it, and had to suffer the most. And yet, she was also the strongest out of all of them, for being able to forgive and move on with her life.

I felt that this story was very much only around Keeley and Talon, which wouldn’t have bothered me that much if I had liked them, but since I didn’t, it bothered me. There were more topics worth adding to the plot! High school, college and the anxiety it brought (there are only a couple of scenes about it), friendship, family… So many things to make the story wider!

Some of their texts were pretty much the only thing that kept me interested until the end, and made me forget all those issues mentioned above while I was reading.

estrelinha  estrelinha  estrelinha e meia


This book is available here:

Book Depository


marta2twitterig

2 thoughts on “Textrovert by Lindsey Summers

  1. honeybookshelf says:

    Hello, sweetie! I actually started my blog and I’d love if you checked it out to see if I’m making any progress :p
    Anyways, about this book: when I read the synopsis it really caught my eye because it’s not often that you see a story revolving around texts. But then I read your opinion and it let me down a bit, either way I’m definitely going to check it out and see if I feel any different.
    Thank you so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Hi Catarina! Thanks for stopping by 😛 I’m so glad you created your blog! I was already following you, but I still need to check out your posts …
      I’ve never read a book so focused around texts either. But there are a couple of books that have texts included, right now I’m only remembering All the Feels by Danika Stone, that I enjoyed more. Textrovert has a lot of high ratings on Goodreads, though, so it might just be me. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

