Someone Else’s Summer by Rachel Bateman

30285632

Title: Someone Else’s Summer

Author: Rachel Bateman

Publisher: Running Press

Number of Pages: 320

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads

Anna’s always idolized her older sister, Storm. So when Storm dies in a tragic car accident on the night of her high school graduation, Anna is completely lost and her family is torn apart. That is, until she finds Storm’s summer bucket list and decides to honor her sister by having the best summer ever—which includes taking an epic road trip to the coast from her sleepy Iowa town. Setting out to do everything on Storm’s list along with her sisters best friend Cameron—the boy next door—who knew that Storm’s dream summer would eventually lead to Anna’s own self-discovery?

I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

onda

myreview

Spoiler-Free

This was a funny reading for most of the time, but I also found myself just wanting the end to finally come. Someone Else’s Summer was mostly a character-driven story, so you really have to like the characters. And I only liked them occasionally.

I could really understand Anna, the main character. She lost her big sister, Storm, and she’s trying to get back to her life. But she soon finds out that’s not as easy as she thinks, and she eventually has some breakdowns.

“She’s not here to guide me anymore. It’s time to figure it out on my own. I’ve never been so terrified.”

When they were children, Anna and Storm were really close. Eventually, they broke apart, and while the explanation wasn’t as weak as I initially thought it would be, I really disliked the fact that Anna started to treat Storm so badly, around her new friends. Unlike what I’ve previously read, the geek character was the sister, not the main character; and it was interesting, but not always pleasant, to see it through another character’s eyes.

Their family was a bit messed up. The parents were shocked, of course, and their retreat was understandable, but it really seemed that they had forgotten they had another child to care for. Her Aunt Morgan was my favorite character, always present, reliable and funny. 

Unlike her “best friend”, Piper. Don’t get my inverted commas wrong, they stay friends until the very end, but I didn’t like Piper, both as a character and as a best friend. She was hurt too, sure, that’s understandable, but she was just so selfish throughout the entire book! I really liked Jovani, though. It’s not usual to see an ex-boyfriend hanging around after the break-up, but he proved himself to be a good friend. And the way he always had Anna’s back was admirable.

The actual plot was fine. I haven’t read many books with similar stories (I don’t think I’ve ever read one, actually), so it wasn’t exactly an old tale for me, but still quite predictable. I also didn’t like the way the romance developed. That’s why I say you have to really create an empathy with the characters, otherwise, you wouldn’t enjoy this at all. I wouldn’t recommend this book for people who have read similar stories in the past, but in case you like this type of plot and are interested in it, there are certainly good things in here.

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha


This book comes out on May 9th! You can pre-order it here:

Book Depository


Have you heard of Someone Else’s Summer? 🙂

marta2twitterig

2 thoughts on “Someone Else’s Summer by Rachel Bateman

Leave a Reply

