Internet Famous by Danika Stone

32950230

Title: Internet Famous

Author: Danika Stone

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Number of Pages: 336

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads

Can an online romance survive in real life?

Internet sensation Madison Nakama has it all! Her pop-culture rewatch site has a massive following, and fans across the world wait on her every post and tweet. Even Madi’s dismal romantic life seems ready to take off as Laurent, a fellow geek (and unfairly HOT French exchange student!) starts flirting with her in the comments section of her blog. But Laurent’s not the only one watching for Madi’s replies.

Internet fame has a price, and their online romance sparks the unwanted attention of a troll. When Madi’s “real life” hits a rough patch, she feels her whole world crumbling. With Laurent’s support, can Madi rally her friends across the globe to beat the troll, or will he succeed in driving her away from everything—and everyone—she loves?

Here is a YA contemporary romance for the iGeneration from Danika Stone, author of All the Feels!

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

onda

myreview

Spoiler-Free

Internet Famous kind of let me down. While the author’s other book, All the Feels, doesn’t make it to my favorites list, I actually enjoyed it when I read it last year, and so I was excited to pick this up and was expecting another 4-star read. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case.

There are a lot of things I enjoyed, of course. Madi, the main character, is a teenager, and her personal problems were also around family and school, two themes already explored in Stone’s previous book, and that I believe are important to discuss. Madi had a lot of responsability thrown over her shoulders, especially when it came to her sister, Sarah, who has special needs. The sibling dynamics here were very interesting to explore – I’ve never seen a point of view such as Madi’s, when it comes to Sarah, – and the maturity and patience she showed were notorious. I wouldn’t, however, say the same thing about her parents. Her mom is physically gone for most of the book, and while I understand it was meant to be another burden (as it affected Sarah), I thought it to be unnecessary. Their dad, on the other hand, was very present, always ready to tell the girls to stop doing something or to ask Madi if she could quiet down her sister. Otherwise, the neighbours might hear the noise – and no one would want such a scandal! It’s understandable, though, having in consideration the status of their dad, but still, Sarah’s not, as Madi actually stated, her kid, and I would have liked to read about a better parents-children relationship. What also kind of put me off was the fact that Madi and Sarah’s parents were like this, but then they would be really cool to Madi and let her do a lot of things – it was difficult to picture them as parents sometimes, honestly.

There is one other detail I thought it was uncalled for: instalove. Romance is, as the synopsis claims, quite a big part of the plot, and we couldn’t just ignore it. Pure fluff, that’s what it was. The idea of it was certainly a good starting point, but I wasn’t a big fan of how it progressed. The love interest was also too perfect to be believable, I was constantly rolling my eyes – at least, I laughed a few times!

“So nothing lovey-dovey most of the time?”

Madi’s expression faltered. “Yeah”

“Sounds like the perfect kind of relationship, if you ask me.”

My favorite aspect of this book is that it’s about a blogger. Madi not only has to worry about her real life, she also needs to take care of her blog, and most importantly, she needs to be careful not to mix both, which, eventually, is what happens. Her blog is about pop culture and she posts reviews of the movies she watches. Then, she also discusses her thoughts with her friends – her online friends. It was amazing seeing their interaction, and it reminded me of my own online friends. It’s my favorite part about blogging! Although, not everyone on the Internet is nice, and that was represented here too. Bad comments appear every once in a while, and there’s even a troll, and we get to see Madi’s (and the community’s) reaction. It was so similar to what we now see on Twitter – that’s one aspect I love in Stone’s book, the accuracy. 

“If only it did have an opt-out button. I’d be the first one to sign up.”

Real life didn’t have that option, but it did have fandom, and that was as close as she was going to get.

As always, I also loved the structure of the book! This author’s books are easy to read because they have texts, pictures, pop culture quotes, and – new!! – blog posts. The light humor is very appreciated and welcomed, too. All was well in the first chapters, maybe even half of the book, but then the (unnecesary) drama began. I also thought some characters were very childish regarding some situations, and the whole find-out-who-the-troll-is was quite obvious. It’s a solid 3 stars for me, though.

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha


This book comes out next Tuesday! You can pre-order it here. 🙂


Update: Hello everyone! Long time, no see, I know, but I’m kinda in the middle of an unwanted hiatus right now. School has been keeping me busy, and I have important exams until the end of the month. I’ll explain it better later, but you won’t probably see me here until July. :/ This was just a quick ‘hello’, really. I’ll try to keep posting on social media, though.


marta2twitterig

5 thoughts on “Internet Famous by Danika Stone

Leave a Reply

