April, May & June Wrap Up

Hey, strangers! I’m finally back to blogging and I couldn’t be happier. Now I have a lot to catch up with (don’t even get me started on the tags I have to write 😂) but I’m working on it. Meanwhile, I realised my last wrap up was back in March, so today I’m here to update you all on the last three months 🙂

WHAT’S GOING ON WITH ME?

I finished high school! I mean, not quite yet, because there’s still the possibility I need to attend the second phase of exams in July (even tho I really don’t want to repeat the History exam), but I’m done with my classes and there’s no way I’m going back to that school next September 😛 The last term of school was pretty rushed, I was always working on some project or studying, and I’m glad it ended. Prom happened, and I had two lovely evenings with my friends. I didn’t have much free time, true, but I had to keep reading so that I wouldn’t lose my mind. I also studied a lot during the two/three weeks of exam season. And that’s pretty much it.

BOOKS I RECEIVED 

 

I’ve requested quite a few books from Netgalley, but I read most of them during the past months, and you’ll see me talking about them soon. The only book I’ve requested and haven’t read yet is Nobody’s Girl by Barbara Amaya. I’m not one to read non-fiction books often, but I checked out the publisher’s Netgalley page after being auto-approved and this one really caught my attention. Then, I also received Ponto Sem Retorno by Gabriela Simões, that was kindly offered by the author. I haven’t read many books by Portuguese authors, so I’m excited about this!

BOOKS I READ 

Anyone would think that, after three months of not updating, I would get here with 20+ books read. I was close, but that’s not what happened. And a lot of the books I read were short, and I also joined Dewey’s 24 Hour Reading Marathon in April, that motivated me.

Titles lead to reviews. 

april

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses & A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas – 3 & 5 💫

The difference of ratings is notorious! I really liked ACOTAR but when I read it I thought it wasn’t exactly worth the hype, and so I rated it 4 stars. After reading and being mind blown by ACOMAF, though, I had to drop the rating of the first book.

Review(s) to come. 

The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares – 1 💫

Also, DNF-ed at 68%. I was pretty excited to read this one because, even though I’ve never read The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants, everyone kept saying good things about those books and the author. Ended up being very disappointed. The narrators were very confusing, I felt there was no plot, and either the characters were very creepy or very annoying. Even the only scene I liked a bit was destroyed.

Textrovert by Lindsey Summers – 2,5 💫

Guys, I didn’t even remember the plot of this book; I had to read my own review, that’s how much I liked it! 😂 I can remember it now, but the only thing I really want to talk about is a big spoiler (not if you’re used to cheesy scenes, though, it seems that I’ve seen this done a million times before). And once again, the dish of the day is childish characters.

Belle’s Tale & The Beast’s Tale by Mallory Reaves – 3 & 3 💫

While I rated them the same, I enjoyed the second one slightly better. The Beast’s POV was interesting and new. The design on both was very pretty, and, because I read this before I watched the live-action ( = spoilers), it made me really excited to watch the movie.

Someone Else’s Summer by Rachel Bateman – 3 💫

Not exactly bad, but quite predictable and can be an old tale for people who have read books with similar plots. Also, guess what? There are selfish and childish characters here! That really seems to be my theme for April! And now that it has been some weeks since I’ve finished it, I can say that that it’s not very memorable.

Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice by Stacy King, Po Tse and Jane Austen – 3,5 💫

I think this was a good enough adaptation. Some scenes had to be rushed, but we could still understand the plot. Also, the illustrations were very exaggerated sometimes, which I found hilarious, especially when it came to Mrs Bennet 😂

Breaking Up Is Hard To Do … But You Could’ve Done Better by Hillary Campbell – 2,5 💫

Honestly, I can’t remember a thing about this book, but, according to my Goodreads review, I said that it kept me entertained for about 20 minutes, that I expected more, and that sometimes the illustrations were better than the actual text.

may

 

Memorial do Convento by José Saramago

I ended up not rating this book. I had to read it for school, and reading at home felt like a complete chore. I wasn’t enjoying the book, and the chapters were GIGANTIC, so I couldn’t keep up with my “read one chapter per day until you’re done” plan. However, I enjoyed it so much more when I read it in class. I realised the tiny things I had completely missed, and the overall experience was better. I wasn’t expecting this to have such a tragic end, though.

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas – 5 💫

There’s not much I can say, because I still haven’t organised my thoughts about the trilogy. I still haven’t decided if I prefer ACOMAF or ACOWAR – I like them both for different reasons. I thought some scenes in the end of ACOWAR were unnecessary, but I’ll probably explore that better in my review.

Review to come. 

june 

 

Internet Famous by Danika Stone – 3 💫

My favourite part of this book is definitely that the main character is a blogger. I thought the online community was well represented, both in good and bad situations, but that’s about it. I didn’t particularly like Madi’s relationship with her parents, or better yet, the parents’ relationship with their children. And the instalove was completely unnecessary!!

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham – 1 💫

What a waste of time! I do understand why someone would find this book (or at least some chapters) kinda funny, but I wouldn’t say, as the Portuguese cover suggests, that this was the funniest book of the year. And I really don’t wanna talk about, or even think about, the creepy scenes I read that I wish I could forget.

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare – 4 💫

Just one book left to finish the trilogy! I’m so excited to start Clockwork Princess, because a lot happened in this book, and I need answers. I finally understand why everyone loves Will! 😛 The only thing I didn’t like was the size of the chapters, they’re huge, and so it took about a month to finish this.

Review to come. 

Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J. K. Rowling – 5 💫

I loved the movie, and so I loved this! It was a really fast read, and it’s perfect for anyone wanting a quick escape to the wizarding world. It made me want to watch the movie again!

POSTS YOU MIGHT HAVE MISSED

 

CURRENTLY READING 

33950142

 

 

 

I started Immer by Denise McFarland this week and I’m (slowly) making my way through it 😛

 

 

 

 

WHAT I’VE BEEN WATCHING 

  • lots of episodes of The Big Bang Theory because they’re super short
  • The only movie I remember watching is Beauty and the Beast
  • I finished Reign and THAT END, I’M STILL CRYING!! 😭

 

Last, it was supposed to be my July TBR, but I don’t have any TBR for the summer. I just want to get rid of as many books on my TBR as I can, and I’ll be happy.

But, what about you? What have you been reading and watching lately? 🙂


marta2twitterig

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “April, May & June Wrap Up

  1. Azia says:

    I haven’t read a lot of these books but I definitely agree with your thoughts on the ACOTAR series. The first was nothing in comparison to ACOMAF (which is perfection) and ACOWAR was a great ending to the trilogy. Can’t wait for the next few books! And I love the Infernal Devices trilogy! Clockwork Princess is the best in my opinion so I hope you enjoy that one. And I watch Reign, too! I’m only midway through the second season though. I really need to get back to that show. It’s so entertaining (no matter how ridiculously inaccurate it is LOL). And congrats on finishing high school!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Thanks, Azia! ❤
      I'm really excited to get to Clockwork Princess, I'll try read it this month ^^ And I'm looking forward to the rest of the books in the ACOTAR series, I'm just sad it won't be about the Inner Circle because there's still so much I need to know 😛
      And I love Reign! When I started watching, I couldn't stop, despite the inaccuracy haha I'm really sad it ended. And I'm sad about THAT end!! We suffer so much with that TV show xD

      Liked by 1 person

      • Azia says:

        Yay! Really excited to see your thoughts on it 😀 The Inner Circle is the main reason I read the ACOTAR books. I’m so ready for more books about them, particularly about Cassian 😉 Love that guy…
        Oh no! It’s a sad ending!? Now I’m scared haha. If they’re somewhat following history, then I already know what happens to Francis, but I’m not sure what follows thereafter. Ugh, guess it’s time to finish it up and break my heart haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Azia says:

        Nooooo!! LOL. Cassian is just the best. I can’t wait to see what becomes of him and Nesta. There’s definitely something going on between them
        Steeling my heart now lol. Reign, you will not make me cry. YOU WILL NOT lol XD

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        IKR!!! There was an extra chapter about them, I think it was in ACOMAF, did you read it? It was hilarious haha
        oh and believe me, IT WILL XD

        Like

      • Azia says:

        I might have read it but probably can’t remember it haha. Gotta check back and see! But the third book definitely confirms the spark between them. I need a spinoff just about those two!! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Joana @ Bookneeders says:

    Yeeey! Congratulations!! 🎉 😍 What are you going to do next? 😀
    I was going to get Belle’s Tale & The Beast’s Tale but then I was afraid of being spoiled 😛 But now I saw the movie and it’s so amazing!! I loved it 😍
    Memorial do Convento is a bit better reading in class for sure! I t has a lot to it ^^ I’m glad you liked it a bit better 😀 And I am super glad you loved ACOWAR so much ^^ I loved it too. It’s quite different from ACOMAF, so I kinda liked it for different reasons but still brilliant!
    Also, all the Manga Classics are quite exaggerated 😛 I especially didn’t like Sense and Sensibility that much x)
    I am currently reading an arc of Painbrush and Jane Eyre 😀 But I’m starting Our Dark Duet tomorrow I think 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Thank you, Joana! ❤ If everything goes according to my plan, I'll go to college. I really wanted to get in Languages Applied to Business Relationships, but in case my grades aren't high enough, I'll try to get in Languages, Literature and Culture. Now I just have to wait! 🙂
      Belle's Tale and The Beast's Tale are just like the movie. Maybe the beast's tale is worth reading, because the POV is different. But the movie is beautiful! I loved it even more than I thought I would ❤
      I'm glad about my change of opinion about Memorial do Convento too, and I'm still not over ACOWAR haha
      I've only read Pride and Prejudice, so that's the only manga I've also read. I don't know if I'll try them again in the future 😛
      Nice! Are you enjoying them? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Joana @ Bookneeders says:

        Good luck!! 😀
        Me too! I wasn’t sure at first but then I loved it!! 😍
        Ahh ACOWAR, it really had everything I wanted, it was not as tense as I was expecting but I loved it! I really wanna know what the next book will be about!!
        I read Les Miserables manga and I have no idea if the story is the same because the book is so freaking big and the manga so tiny and I kinda want to know what happened in the book :p But… so BIIIG >.<
        Yeeees Our Dark Duet was so freaking good!!!
        Sorry to replay so late 😛 I ended classes yesterday… I'm freeeee and I am answering comments and doing tags that I missed x)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        hhmmm holidays, how I’ll miss those haha I’ve been enjoying the past weeks, but I got my grades on Thursday and my average is not high enough, so I’ll repeat two exams. It kills me that I have to revise everything again! The only thing that keeps me going is thinking that after next Thursday, there’s nothing I can do, and I’ll have to deal with the result, be it good or bad. I just have to survive until then 😛
        You’re in college, right? How was the semester? 🙂
        And I’ve been seeing This Savage Song and Our Dark Duet so much around social media lately, it makes me want to read it xD

        Liked by 1 person

      • Joana @ Bookneeders says:

        Ahhhh holidays 😍…. What are those, again?! I don’t think I know the meaning anymore –‘
        I absolutely hate to repeat exams! It’s even more excruciating for me than study for them the first time x)
        I hope it goes better for you this time!
        I am… And I wish I could say it has been great but… even in the freaking mini holidays I have I have projects to do… The only good part about college is that although you have a lot of work it’s a think you actually like… other than that? I need free time!!
        I love them!! I hope you like them if you get to read them! I like that type of darker fantasy 😍

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        Ooh, I think I’m gonna love them! ^^
        And thanks! I’m really looking forward to college because of that, everyone says it’s more stressful, but at least you’re doing what you really really like 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

