Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Hey, everyone! I almost missed this week’s schedule, because I’m still quite not used to blogging again, and I completely forgot I used to post a tag on Wednesdays (??). Thanks to Joana @ bookneeders,Β I didn’t. She posted today the Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag, which is a tag I love reading, and she also tagged me, so I’m very excited to share it with you! πŸ˜€

Before the questions, I’ll be telling you how I’m doing on my reading challenges (they’re not many and I’m still failing):

  • Goodreads Reading Challenge – I’ve read 30 out of 50 books (3 were DNFs, tho, so don’t really count)
  • Beat the Backlist – hmmmm, right. I’m pretty sure I’m doing fine, the problem is that I forgot to update the info on the website … and I haven’t done such in the last three months.

onda

I just want to make clear that even tho 2017 has brought me a lot of bad books, I’ve also read some amazing books this year, and some of them that I REALLY loved aren’t featured here because I was trying really hard to control myself and to keep this short πŸ˜› (*hm HM the blood of olympus*)

1. Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2017

It’s not that I have a long list of favourites, but between these three, I couldn’t choose just one. ^^

2. Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2017

23766623

ACOTAR and ACOMAF couldn’t be more different, and that’s why I find A Court of Mist and Fury to be a great sequel! ACOWAR was great too, and I loved it (even tho it was for different reasons), but it didn’t have the same impact on me as ACOMAF did.

I also haven’t read many sequels this year, so I didn’t have a lot of options.

3. New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To

28458598

Everyone seems so excited and happy about this book, and so it made me pretty excited too! I have no idea if or when I’ll get to it, though. 😦

4. Most Anticipated Release For Second Half of 2017

30312860

I know this book was already released, but as I’ve read the first and second books in Portuguese, I want to read this one in Portuguese as well, and so I have to wait. I have no idea when the translated version comes out, but I hope it’s still this year!

5. Biggest Disappointment

Hmmm, 2017 has not been my year :/

6. Biggest Surprise

❀ ❀ ❀

7. Favourite New Author (Debut or New To You)

Sarah J Maas ^^

8. Newest Fictional Crush

Cassian (ACOWAR) ❀

9. Newest Favourite Character

Jem and Tessa (both from TID) πŸ™‚

10. Book That Made You Cry

No answers here! I’m not usually a crybaby, as Joana claims to be, but sometimes I do have a book or two to fit into this category. Nothing so far, though. πŸ˜›

11. Book That Made You Happy

12. Favourite Book To Movie Adaptation You Saw This Year

Do these count? haha (and yes, I’ve only watched Pride and Prejudice this year!!)

13. Favourite Review You’ve WrittenΒ 

I don’t particularly like any of the reviews I’ve written so far, but maybe my review of A Thousand Salt Kisses Later, because, even if it’s very simple, at least I named all the problems I saw (and me becoming more critic is a good thing πŸ˜› )

14. Most Beautiful Book You Bought/Received This Year

20893528

I’m still not over how beautiful this edition is! ❀

15. What Books Do You Have To Read By The End Of The Year

Well, I’m hoping I can get rid of all the books in my TBR (currently 25 books), but I really want to read: Little Women, Clockwork Princess and The Bane Chronicles, Stalking Jack the Ripper and The Hate U Give. πŸ™‚


What about you? How are you doing so far on your challenges? What’s your favourite book so far? Or your biggest disappointment?Β 

I’m not tagging anyone tonight, but tomorrow I’ll start working on my other tags, and I’ll write a list of everyone I could tag, so that I don’t repeat the same names over and over again πŸ˜› So, if you, for whatever reason, don’t want to be tagged on anything, just let me know πŸ™‚


marta2twitterig

14 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Great answers, Marta! I can’t wait to see who I’ll love more: Cassian or Rhysand hahaha (still not over the fact I have yet to read the trilogy)
    I’m still planning to read Textrovert and some of the others, maybe even When Dimple Met Rishi since I’ve been low on cute contemporaries πŸ˜› I hope you end up loving it!
    And that Little Women cover is to die for ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I’d probably still have it on my TBR as well, because I wasn’t planning on reading ACOTAR so soon, but a couple of Portuguese booktubers were organising a re-reading between them, so I joined them πŸ˜› So, don’t worry, you still have time, just be careful about spoilers! I managed to get spoiled too many times 😦
      I hope you enjoy Textrovert! And I was hoping some of my friends would get me WDMR as a very late birthday gift (maybe! πŸ˜› )
      I love it too, it’s probably the most beautiful cover I have on my shelf! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Azia says:

    Great post, Marta! I loved ACOWAR as well, although not as much as ACOMAF. Cassian is soooo swoon-worthy. I think I adore Rhys a bit more but it’s a really close call haha. And I keep seeing Queens of Geek on Goodreads and on the blogosphere. I’ve heard so many positive things about it. I might just have to bump it up on my TBR! And I just finished When Dimple Met Rishi. It was so cute!! I think you’d love it, especially if you’re in the mood for a good YA contemporary. Jem and Tessa are amazing, aren’t they? I miss those books. I might just have to reread them πŸ˜€ I have to read the Bane Chronicles and THUG as well! Plus, that Little Women cover is gorgeous! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Thanks, Azia! ^^ I love Rhys, but I completely adore Cassian haha It’s a close call too, I love all of them πŸ˜›
      Queens of Geek was amazing! My review was a mess, but I promise you it’s very good! The friendship between the three main characters is lovely!! And I’d love to re-read it, maybe someday I’ll get a physical copy because my eyes can’t take any more ebooks xD
      I’m so happy you enjoyed When Dimple Met Rishi! I’m sure I’ll love it as well, I’ll have to see if I can get my hands on a copy ^^
      I just have Clockwork Princess left, and I’m loving the trilogy. Will is lovely, but I still prefer Jem πŸ˜›
      I’m very excited to read THUG!! And I’ve had The Bane Chronicles on my shelf for what, two years now?? I must read it asap haha

      Like

  3. Paige Howells says:

    I haven’t read When Dimple Met Rishi yet either, I just haven’t bought it yet because I feel like I have so many other books that I need to get to first😞 which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, I just need to start reading more. Love your answers for this tag by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Thanks, Paige! πŸ˜€ I feel the same, I don’t have a huge TBR pile, but I still feel like I should read most of them before I get more. I’m sure I won’t resist, tho! haha I hope you enjoy the book when you get it ^^

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Elena says:

    Girl, your answers! I love them all so much! And the fact that you put Cassian as your fictional crush? I think I love you too! I love the ACOTAR series, though I’m still conflicted about how I feel over the third book. I love SJM, adored the Beauty and the Beast movie, and I’m still waiting on my copy of When Dimple Met Rishi. But going back to what I said before, your answers!! They’re everything! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Aww, thank you so much Elena!! I’m so happy you liked the post! ❀
      I really liked ACOWAR! I think my favorite is ACOMAF, because there's a lot more going on, but ACOWAR was as equally good, or pretty close. It gives us more about the Inner Circle, and Elain and Nesta, and other characters, and I loved that!
      Beauty and the Beast is lovely ❀
      Have you read the Throne of Glass series? I haven't, and I don't think I will, but I'm curious haha
      I hope you enjoy When Dimple Met Rishi ^^

      Liked by 1 person

      • Elena says:

        I can’t say I enjoyed ACOWAR as much as you, but I definitely loved it for giving us a closer look at the other members of the Inner Circle, Rhysand excluded, as well as Lucien, Elain, and Nesta. I appreciated it solely for that.
        I have not read the Throne of Glass series. Well, not all of it. I’ve read the first two books and I’ve been working on trying to read the third for years now, haha. It’s sad, but I think I’m gonna keep trying. That series also has a lot of mixed reviews though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        A lot of people recommended the Throne of Glass series for me, but after the reviews I heard/read for the last book, I don’t wanna get near it xD I hope you enjoy it tho! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Elena says:

        Well, if I do get around to reading the series (lord, I really have to), I’ll be sure to let you know whether or not I’m on board with yet another SJM series, haha πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Joana @ Bookneeders says:

    I’m a bit late here πŸ˜› But I’m finally seeing it!
    I have yet to read Blue and Only Ever Yours but they are in my TBR! I already bought Queens of Geek tho and I will try to get to it soon! πŸ˜…
    I feel exactly the same as you with the ACOTAR books!
    I am almost getting to Dimple (next month) and to Always and Forever Lara Jean (this month) and so far I am really enjoying To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before! 😍
    Pride and Prejudice ahhh I still have to see it >.< But I intend to read the book this year again and do a review on it so… sooon!
    That edition of Little Women makes me so jealous x) I need it!! It's just gorgeous!
    Awesome answers! My TBR is just getting way too big both in owned books and yet to own… And yep… cry baby here! πŸ˜…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Thanks, Joana! And don’t worry – I’m so behind on everything around here! I’ve never had a summer as busy and stressful as the one I’m having this year 😦
      I hope you enjoy all those books! Only Ever Yours is a favourite of mine, and I’m constantly recommending it haha
      Dimple and Lara Jean!!! aaahh so jealous, I wish I could have them right now! And I’m looking forward to your review of Pride and Prejudice! Have fun watching the movie ❀
      And good luck with your TBR! πŸ˜›

      Like

Leave a Reply

