Ponto Sem Retorno by Gabriela Simões

the picture above belongs to @garotaperdidanoslivros 

Hello, everyone! I hope you’re having a wonderful Saturday. I probably won’t be very active during the next few days because I got my grades back on Thursday and I do have to repeat two of my exams next week, and also because I’ve joined readbyzoe’s 24h reading marathon and thebooktarian’s #crashathon. I’ll give you an update of those marathons sometime during next week! ^^

For now, I’ll leave you my review of Ponto Sem Retorno by Gabriela Simões. This is a book by an author from my country, and as it is not translated, I don’t think you’d be very interested. I needed, however, to write this in order to let my thoughts flow. This is more of a rant than anything else, to be honest.

35384837

 

Title: Ponto Sem Retorno (Point of No Return, roughly translated) 

Author: Gabriela Simões

Publisher: Edições Vieira da Silva

Number of Pages: 238

Language: Portuguese

 

 

 

synopis

translated from Goodreads

Giselle Levy is a half-witch and she lives isolated from the rest of the world, with her grandpa, hidden from the king’s eyes. She’s careful and astute; however, trying to survive, she’s caught and blackmailed by one of the Princes of Kendrad, Cristian, who promises not to turn her in, if she agrees to work at the palace. Struggling, she puts her identity in danger and starts working at the palace, where she has to deal with the seduction attempts of Prince Cristian, the mysterious glances of Prince Eli, the secret meetings with her best friend Rylan, and an inhuman king who keeps dark secrets. Giselle lives in a constant uncertainty and torment of being discovered; bitter for not being free, she finds a mysterious room with a powerful enchantment that could change everything. Assertive, intelligent and defensive, she’ll face a decision that will change her life forever and the idea she has of herself.

I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

onda

myreview

I didn’t hide any possible spoilers, because this book is not translated. If you’re Portuguese and would like to read my spoiler-free review, check my Instagram post here

I’ve never had any extremely unpleasant experience with a book by a Portuguese author. I haven’t read many, that’s true, but the ones I did read ended up being somewhat enjoyable.

When the author of Ponto Sem Retorno contacted me, I thought her book would be nice to read. The synopsis seemed like other books I had read previously, so I didn’t have my hopes *too* high, but I had also read great reviews (4 and 5-star reviews), so I was kinda excited and hyped. The book ended up surprising me, but not in the way I was hoping for.

Starting with the writing style, I thought it was too simple and slow. The paragraphs were too long, and not the best punctuated. Add that to several typos throughout the text and the fact that they would repeat the same thing often, and you could see me losing my concentration and interest in the story.

The second thing that bothered me the most was the main character, Giselle. She was very childish and irritating. For example, she thought extremely high of herself, and as soon as she got to the palace, she acted like she owned the place. She showed a bad temper towards the other workers, and then she would complain that they didn’t like her. She even acted insolently towards the two princes and she got away with it. That’s another thing I didn’t get. She acted like a snob, and yet the Prince seemed very interested in her. Instalove aside, I didn’t understand why. The romance was also very clichéd. She had too many love interests and couldn’t make up her mind. And we all saw it coming … The dialogues between Giselle and the other characters, namely the two Princes, seemed very unrealistic to me. For once, I found the dialogue out of context. Second, Giselle was a girl raised away from people, she didn’t get any other education besides learning how to read and write, and so I found it hard to believe she knows how to use all those fancy words. And third, way too cheesy! *rolls eyes for millionth time*

However, the dialogues weren’t the only thing I thought to be inaccurate. In the first chapters of the book, we’re told that Giselle’s birthday is in a month’s time. Then, the author starts using expressions like “weeks passed …”, “One more week went by…” (incredible how nothing happened during all that time, she never saw any Prince during those weeks, and then they magically appear when they’re needed) and, according to my math, the birthday took waaaaay longer than a month to finally happen. The fact that we’re told stuff, instead of the author showing it to us, also bothered me. For example, how would Giselle know what the Prince’s personality is like even before she met him? Giselle also objectified and kinda slut-shamed in one way or another two female characters that she didn’t particularly like, and I absolutely hated that.

I think I could go on and on about this book, but at the same time, I don’t want to. Overall, it was clichéd and predictable.

The world was briefly (and badly) explained, which is a shame, because that’s what I was most excited for. There was one tiny detail I didn’t see coming, which actually surprised me positively. But the plot reminded me of other books (through details), such as The Hunger Games, The Mortal Instruments series and Red Queen; not exactly good when you’re trying to make a difference. Finally, the book ended on a cliffhanger, which always sparks my curiosity, but having in consideration all that I’ve previously mentioned, I don’t believe I’ll keep reading the series.

estrelinhaestrelinha


marta2twitterig

 

17 thoughts on “Ponto Sem Retorno by Gabriela Simões

  1. mareads says:

    Olá, Marta!
    É extremamente mau quanto temos muitas expectativas sobre um livro e ele nos desilude… Compreendo perfeitamente esse sentimento xD
    Estou a ler agora este livro (e, não te preocupes, li a tua opinião do Instagram, livre de qualquer spoiler) porque a autora também mo enviou para o revisar no meu blogue; espero ter uma experiência de leitura um bocadinho melhor do que a tua! Ahahah
    Beijinhos e boas leituras! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Hey hey! Eu aviso sempre se há spoilers para evitar qualquer situação desagradável, mas há pessoas que por acaso gostam de os ler haha
      Espero que estejas a gostar! Realmente a minha experiência não foi a melhor, tive demasiados “pequenos problemas” aqui e acolá. Mas não é nada que não se resolva nos próximos livros! Ainda o estás a ler? O que é que estás a achar até agora? 🙂
      Desculpa a demora a responder, esta última semana foi a semana da segunda fase dos exames e por isso não pude vir aqui 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • mareads says:

        Ainda o estou a ler, entretanto dei-lhe uma pausa por causa da Crash-A-Thon e outros livros acabaram por se colocar à frente deste (ups). Até agora, estou a achar mais ou menos, sinceramente. Mas ainda li pouco para poder dizer se gosto ou nem por isso ahahah
        Espero que os exames tenham corrido bem! Não tem qualquer problema 🙂
        Boas leituras!

        Liked by 1 person

      • mareads says:

        Ui, ultimamente está-me sempre a acontecer isso! Tenho sempre deixado livros parados e, depois, pego neles novamente. Sempre que não me sinto no “mood” para um livro, deixo-o parado para voltar a lê-lo mais tarde xD
        Correu pessimamente mal ahahah E a ti?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        wow, nunca me aconteceu xD sempre que não me apetece ler, tento fazer outras atividades, não me sinto bem a deixar um livro, não sei haha
        A sério? Porquê? 😦 A mim por acaso não correu mal. Já sabia que não ia conseguir ler cinco livros, por isso baixei para quatro, mas depois nem isso. Fiquei satisfeita com três xD

        Liked by 1 person

      • mar says:

        Eu deixo-os, porque sei que volto sempre para os ler xD a não ser que deixe de ler os livros por não gostar xD
        Só consegui li ler 2 livros… A semana não foi muito fácil, estive cheia de coisas para fazer. Eu também tinha 4 livros na minha TBR ahahah Ainda leste bastante! 3 livros em uma semana já é bem bom!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Azia says:

    Oh no! I’m so sorry this book was not a very pleasant read for you. It’s always so disappointing when the writing is not up to par and the characters aren’t so likable. It really bothers me when there’s numerous loves interest and insta-love comes into play. So much of this book sounds really inconsistent. Hope Clockwork Princess is working out better for you! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Well, I’m really sad about this book, but the author is currently working on the sequel and I hope she gets better at it. Practice makes perfect, right? 🙂 AND CLOCKWORK PRINCESS WAS AMAZING AND HEARTBREAKING ❤ ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Azia says:

        Practice sure does! Haven’t read her first book, but rooting for her to improve on her second. And if it’s better, I hope you enjoy it a bit more! :DOH MY GOD I’M SO GLAD YOU LOVED IT. ISN’T IT JUST PURE AWESOMENESS? Have you written a review for it? I’ll check it out soon if you have! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        IT WAS AMAZING AND PERFECT AND I’M STILL NOT OVER IT!! Especially because I’ve also recently read The Bane Chronicles and some characters show up again and ❤ ❤ ❤ I haven't written reviews for any of the books in the TID trilogy, but I'll work on it ^^

        Liked by 1 person

      • Azia says:

        YAAAAAY!! I’m just SO SO happy you loved it 😀 I have yet to read The Bane Chronicles. Gotta make some time to read those ones before I reread TID. Can’t wait to read those reviews! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

