The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

I don’t know why I waited so long to finally read this trilogy! 😍

 

Title: The Infernal Devices trilogy

(Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince, Clockwork Princess)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Publisher: Walker Books

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads (Clockwork Angel)

Magic is dangerous—but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What’s more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa’s power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by—and torn between—two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm’s length…everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world…and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

onda

myreview

All Spoilers Are Hidden

How about I start this with saying I SHIP EVERYONE?? Naah, that’s not a good way to start a review, but this won’t be a review, this is going to be me rambling and fangirling.

AGAIN, WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG TO BUY THIS? This is an absolutely amazing trilogy, and while I adore The Mortal Instruments series because it introduced me to this world and will always be special to me, I finally understand what everyone’s been raving about.

First, Tessa. She’s fantastic and definitely one of my new favourite female characters! She’s very brave, and a kickass girl. AND, she likes to read! Honestly, just thinking about all the quotes related to reading and Tessa that I marked …

Then, Will. Everyone’s obsessed with Will. And here’s my unpopular opinion: I’m not 😛 While reading Clockwork Angel, I couldn’t understand why so many people were in love with him. He reminded me of Jace so many times! Unpreocuppied, relaxed, sassy, always looking for trouble. Yes, I loved his comebacks, but at the same time, he profoundly irritated me (and Tessa!). When I later learned of the reason behind his behaviour, I started to understand him better, but it was only when I reached Clockwork Princess that I realised I actually really liked him.

However, despite everything, I still prefer Jem. He’s just a precious character, and the way he cares for everyone, for Will, for Tessa, for Charlotte, won me over at first sight. He’s also always defending Tessa, no matter what. And he can be as witty as Will when it comes to comebacks 😛

I’m really glad I didn’t hate or slightly dislike the love triangle. I was worried about that, even though many people reassured it is well done. And it is! I have no idea how Cassandra Clare did it, but the romance didn’t seem forced, and Tessa wasn’t that kind of annoying character who couldn’t make up her mind. She simply loved them both in different ways. And while I wasn’t the biggest fan of Will in the first book, I have to admit every moment between him and Tessa was full of tension. Meanwhile, Jem was sweet.

There’s also Magnus and Jessamine, who deserve a place in my (mess of a) review.

Magnus was, as he always is, the soul of every party and sometimes wouldn’t share the spotlight. 😛 He’s just … Magnus, always there with his remarks, odd but amazing fashion sense, and the worst (or best?) of timing.

And Jessamine was kind of the opposite. I was never very fond of her, not even in the beginning. She tried to use Tessa in order to get the life she wanted, and then she was too naive and into her daydreaming to realise what was going on. I pitied her, and what happened to her made me uncomfortable, but not because I cared much about her.

Finally, the overall plot was very well structured. The main story, as well the background, were perfectly mixed. I also found out I love Cassie’s writing style. I had read The Mortal Instruments series in Portuguese, and this was my first experience with one of her novels in English. Returning to the Shadowhunter world was amazing, as always, and I loved that we got to learn new things through Tessa’s experience.

And now here’s my spoiler-y part: 

SOPHIE!!!!!!!! AND CECILY!!!!!! AND THE LIGHWOOD BROTHERS!!!!!!! AND CHARLOTTE AND HENRY!!!!!!!!!!!!

*breathe, Marta, breathe*

Ok, starting with Charlotte and Henry, I hate they don’t get more recognition. They seem so distant in the first book, but the end of Clockwork Prince was everything to me because of them! And Charlotte is so WOW?? I adore her, and again, I hate that not many people talk about her. I’m so happy she managed to prove everyone wrong ❤ ❤ THEY DON’T DESERVE ANY HARM THAT CAME TO THEM! 😭

Sophie always seemed like a strong character, but I loved to get to know the sweet girl she was around Gideon. And he was so sweet too, and that part when he blurted that he wanted to marry her, or the scones scene??? 😍😍

AND CAN WE TALK ABOUT HOW LOYAL SOPHIE ALWAYS WAS TO CHARLOTTE? 

Finally, Gabriel and Cecily. I wasn’t a big fan of Gabriel at first, and I doubt anyone was really, but then he started to change (they all did) and he deserved a second opportunity. And that scene when he rates her technique with weapons and then later she rates his kisses was so cliché but I loved it 😍 AND CECILY WAS CRAZY, BUT I LOVE HER!

I got so many new favourite female characters with this series, seriously 😂

Clockwork Princess was my favourite in the entire trilogy. I flew through it, it was completely addictive, it made me feel all kinds of stuff and then THAT EPILOGUE! I rated it 5 stars. I rated both Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince with 4 stars. 


Have you read The Infernal Devices? 🙂

marta2twitterig

 

5 thoughts on “The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

    • Marta says:

      The Mortal Instruments has a special place in my heart because those were the first I read, and I’m very much attached to the characters, but The Infernal Devices is so beautiful and precious, I’m so in love with everything!! ❤
      Thank you so much for tagging me! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

