July Wrap Up

Hey, everyone! Today I have my July Wrap Up to share with you, and I’m so ready for July to be over, I don’t even care if time is passing that quickly 😂

WHAT’S GOING ON WITH ME?

July has to be one of my least favourite months of this year so far. It doesn’t feel like Summer at all to me! I’ve had to wait, repeat exams and then wait again and I’ve been a complete bubble of nerves because of this.

However, I still managed to keep my head on my shoulders. I hung out with my friends, had some fun, watched movies and caught up with tv shows and, mostly, read. So let’s see how well or badly I did with that! 😛

BOOKS I RECEIVED

25494343

The only new book I got this month was Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare, but I’m pretty proud of how I got it. I didn’t buy anything! Instead, as I had an extra copy of Clockwork Angel (in Portuguese, that someone had offered me as a birthday gift last year) I traded it with other Portuguese bookstagrammer. ^^

BOOKS I READ

Titles lead to reviews.

 

 

Immer by Denise McFarland – 3 💫

I really liked the concept of the story and also the meaning of Immer. I was just disappointed that the world had been underdeveloped, and it focused more on the romance. Not that I minded the romance that much, it was that kind of (very) slow-burning romance when you’re always on the edge and hoping for them to be together, but after a while, it got a little too much.

Ponto Sem Retorno by Gabriela Simões – 2 💫

I had high expectations for this book, after reading so many good reviews, but they weren’t delivered in the end. It’s just full of little clichés and unrealistic everything: characters, moments and dialogues.

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare – 5 💫

I LOVED CLOCKWORK PRINCESS! I’m completely obsessed with the trilogy now, but this is definitely my favourite of the three. It’s just full of tension of different kinds and I fangirled all the way through.

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – 5 💫

This was a short and quick read, but a very entertaining one. I really appreciated that it was based on first-hand experiences. It’d also be a very good intro on the topic.

I didn’t write a full review of this book. 

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson – 4 💫

I’m glad that, two years after buying this book, I can finally say that I’ve read it! Magnus is one of my favourite characters in all the books, and it was amazing to read only about him. All the book was just Magnus, there’s no other way to put it. I also got to learn and understand a few things that aren’t mentioned either in The Infernal Devices trilogy or The Mortal Instruments series.

Review to come.

Landline by Rainbow Rowell – 2,5 💫

Not my Rainbow Rowell favourite book, that’s for sure. Overall, it was one of those meh books. I didn’t feel anything with the story, I didn’t connect with the characters, and I just thought it was boring for most of it.

Review to come.  

Project You: More Than 50 Ways to Calm Down, De-Stress & Feel Great by Aubre Andrus, Karen Bluth and Veronica Collignon  – 3,5 💫

I requested this book on Netgalley when I was feeling stressed out due to school work and exams and thought this might help. I only read it now, but I’m still glad I did it. It doesn’t have any information out of ordinary, and that’s why it might be more suitable for a younger audience, as I had already tried most of what it recommends. The design is lovely, though, and I’ll certainly save some recipes to try later.

The Heir by Kiera Cass – 3,5 💫

Very different from the original trilogy, The Heir is still entertaining and fun to read. Eadlyn was a bit of a spoiled princess sometimes, but I could stand her. As any other Kiera Cass book, it was a fast read for me, and full of swoon-worthy (and sometimes clichéd 😛 ) romance.

Review to come.

The Crown by Kiera Cass – 4 💫

More enjoyable than The Heir, there are some things I could, but probably wouldn’t in the end, change. Eadlyn’s behaviour improvement was very nice to see.

Review to come.  

POSTS YOU MIGHT HAVE MISSED

 

WHAT I HAVE BEEN WATCHING

I’m still watching The Big Bang Theory (and making progress!) and Shadowhunters, and I’m excited about the new season of Game of Thrones. When it comes to movies, I’ve watched The Space Between UsBoss Baby, To Walk Invisible: The Bronte Sisters, and Spider Man: Homecoming.

AUGUST TBR 

 

Maybe I’m being a little ambitious, but I’m counting on having plenty of time to read in August and I really want to get books out of my TBR pile. I want to finish The Selection series, and so I’ll hopefully read Happily Ever After now. I want to *finally* read The Lunar Chronicles, and so I’ll get to Cinder, Scarlet, Cress and Winter this month. Winter is a huge book, though, that’s the one I’m worried about. I think Confess would be a good beach read, and so I’ll take it with me on holidays. And I want to read Nobody’s Girl and Keep the Faith in August as they’re both ebooks, and I’m sure I won’t have time to read them when I start school again.


What about you? Was July a good month for you? How many books did you read? What have you been watching? Have you read any of the books in my TBR? 🙂

marta2twitterig

3 thoughts on “July Wrap Up

  1. ChicNerdReads says:

    sorry to hear about your exams! you read so many books this month and i am happy to see that you loved clockwork princess, omg that book and trilogy are utterly amazing!! i hope you enjoy the lunar chronicles and have a better month in August!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

