The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson

I finally, FINALLY, read this book! I don’t know if you’re aware, but I got The Bane Chronicles two years ago, when I visited London. At the time, I thought it wouldn’t be long before I got to it, but then I heard it contained spoilers of The Infernal Devices trilogy. And so I had to wait, and I’m only now bringing you my review. 😛

23395716

 

Title: The Bane Chronicles

Author: Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson

Publisher: Walker Books

Number of Pages: 528

Language: English

 

 

 

 

synopis

Goodreads

Ever wanted to know why Magnus Bane is banned from Peru? Or what he got up to during the French Revolution? Or what he bought Shadowhunter Alec Lightwood as a birthday present? Read this book and find out! Originally released as individual e-only short stories by bestselling YA authors Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson and Sarah Rees Brennan, this gorgeous hardback brings all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material.

onda

myreview

Spoiler-Free

This book is Magnus all the way. There’s no better description. It’s full of adventure, sassiness and fashion eccentricities. We travel with Magnus throughout ages, and we get to know him. To understand him. He’s one of my favourite characters in this world, and this book only made me love him even more.

“Nobody else is wearing anything even remotely like it.”

Magnus cast a disparaging look around all the fashion-challenged sailors. “I feel sorry for them, of course, but I do not see why that observation should alter my current extremely stylish course of action.”

It also made me love some other characters. For example, some characters I hadn’t really paid much attention to before, such as Magnus’s friends, Catarina and Ragnor. Or characters I already knew, but had no idea that could be so sassy, such as Raphael. Or even characters I absolutely adore, such as Tessa, Alec and Isabelle.

Most importantly, it made me understand Downwordlers better. We’re always focusing on Shadowhunters, and it was a very nice change for once.

The book was really funny and entertaining! When fiction got mixed with History, now THAT was hilarious! But the book is full of amazing, clever and hilarious moments. 

And I just loved the insight we got. Magnus really had so many adventures! We got to know tiny things that happened in the past, related to Raphael and Camille, and also about Tessa, Will and Jem. As someone who had recently finished Clockwork Princess, I wasn’t emotionally ready for that. However, the more recent it got, the lighter it became. Alec and Magnus’s first moments as a couple were adorable to read about. And, as already mentioned, I loved Isabelle and how protective she was! 😍 Honestly, my favourite chapter has to be What To Buy The Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway) 😏

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha


Have you read The Bane Chronicles? What’s your favourite story? 😊

marta2twitterig

 

Leave a Reply

