ACOTAR, ACOMAF & ACOWAR by Sarah J Maas

Hello, everyone! Today I’m sharing my opinion of the A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy by Sarah J Maas, but I’m afraid it might be quite a small post. I read all the books back in April and May, and I’ve been delaying writing this review, and so I don’t remember every single detail I might want to talk about.

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, A Court of Wings and Ruin

Author: Sarah J Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Language: English

synopis

Goodreads (A Court of Thorns and Roses)

Feyre is a huntress.

She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feeling for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever.

onda

myreview

Spoiler Are Hidden

Countless people have recommended, not only this trilogy, but Sarah J Maas in general, to me. And because I’m not very interested in Throne of Glass, and I happen to adore Beauty and the Beast, I decided to give this a try. I’m extremely happy I did so, as I found a new favourite series to talk about!

Now, A Court of Thorns and Roses is my least favourite book. When I first read it, I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t understand what the talking was all about either. I wasn’t the biggest fan of Feyre, as she seemed irritating and boring to me. I liked the world and the plot, however, and even though I had been spoiled and already knew Tamlin couldn’t be trusted, because … you know, I understood what made people like him so much. He appeared as totally charming, and even I, who should know better because I had been spoiled, had problems not trusting him. . As this was a Beauty and the Beast retelling, I kept looking for similarities. There aren’t many, but they’re there, and I had fun while comparing both. Nevertheless, I ended up rating the book with 4 stars, because I enjoyed it, but later changed it to 3 stars, as I thought better and ended up realising this book was too slow and sometimes boring for my liking. 

A Court of Mist and Fury was a huge improvement! Never for a moment did I think it was slow paced; we’re always learning about the characters, the places and the world. I loved getting to know the Inner Circle: Amren and Mor are now part of my list of favourite female characters, Azriel is a sweet and I couldn’t stop fangirling over Cassian. They’re all fierce and sarcastic, though, each like their own. Getting to know Rhysand through Feyre’s eyes was amazing, as she herself developed as a character. In the first book, she was already someone who couldn’t keep her mouth shut, but in ACOMAF she became much bolder and sassy with her comebacks. And I loved how Rhysand always loved, supported and respected her. 

“You might be my mate,” he said, “but you remain your own person. You decide your fate – your choices. Not me. You chose yesterday. You choose every day. Forever.”

A Court of Wings and Ruin was very good, but not as good as ACOMAF for me. It was close, though. It’s just as full of action, but sometimes it became quite slow, especially in the beginning, having in consideration where Feyre was. That didn’t change the fact that ACOWAR made me extremely emotional! The final chapters are just a rollercoaster of emotions, and I have to admit, sometimes quite cliché and unnecessary, but those moments didn’t last long. Despite that, I liked how it ended, but I didn’t like the fact that it ended – I needed and still need more!

Throughout the entire trilogy, I found more things I liked, such as the world itself, the creatures (seriously, there are so many, someone should write a book only about them) and the other characters. I never felt much attached to Feyre’s sisters in the first book, but eventually, that changed. Elain is a sweet, but she also had her hilarious moments. And, honestly, after that Mor revelation [😍, btw] I ship her with Azriel, not Lucien, although I’ve become fonder of him . And Nesta? I see so many people hating on her, but I love her. She’s so bitchy and sassy, yeah, but I’ve always liked how protective she was of Elain, even though she wasn´t like that to Feyre, and there’s just something about her that makes me like her.

The History of this world was very interesting to learn about as well, and every single villain was worse than the one before and I absolutely loved that and hated them!

One thing I didn’t particularly like is a detail I actually only noticed while reading ACOWAR, and it is that the sex scenes are a bit repetitive, and therefore, unnecessary sometimes.

I rated both ACOMAF and ACOWAR with 5 stars. Although my favourite is A Court of Mist and Fury.


What about you? Have you read these books? 🙂

marta2twitterig

Leave a Reply

