Landline by Rainbow Rowell

I’ve read quite a few Rainbow Rowell books by now. I’ve read Fangirl, which I loved, Carry On, which was good, Eleanor & Park, which I’ve read too long ago to remember anything about it, and now Landline. And I should have read the synopsis before borrowing it from my best friend.

 

 

 

Title: Por Um Fio (Landline, in English)

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: Chá das Cinco

Number of Pages: 320

Language: Portuguese

 

 

synopis

Goodreads

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble; it has been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems beside the point now.

Maybe that was always beside the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts…

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

onda

myreview

Spoilers Are Hidden

Landline was a bit of a disappointment. Rainbow Rowell is an excellent author, but I’ve also heard her adult novels are not as good as her young adult novels. If Attachments is anything like Landline, I’d have to agree.

I couldn’t relate to most characters at all, but since they’re married and have kids, that’s not a surprise. I thought maybe I would like Seth, but he turned out to be a victim of a cliché I saw miles away. The only character I liked was Heather, partially because she was the only character with my age, and also because she’s awesome like that. She was the only plot twist I didn’t see coming, and I just simply loved her.

Georgie, the main character, was just … boring? I don’t know, I didn’t connect with her at all. Or her story. Or the fact that it took her an entire book to figure out that she could still save her marriage and how she would do it. Or the weird telephone thing. Or how her phone was always dead – that was just annoying. Or how she talked about and to Neal – sometimes I just wanted to scream “chill”! Her job seemed very cool, though. And her daughters, especially Noomi, were adorable. Meow.

Besides not connecting with the characters, the plot was just plain boring and empty. I flew through the book and read it in one day; however, I didn’t feel anything special with it. It wasn’t as funny as I thought it would be, especially taking in consideration Georgie’s job as a screenwriter. And some parts were kinda confusing.

Definitely not for me. 

There was a good part, though: <spoiler [don’t read unless you’ve also read Fangirl]> I read online that the young couple helping Georgie out at the airport is actually Cath and Levi from Fangirl, and Rainbow has admitted that that’s true. CATH AND LEVI. ENGAGED. THE FEELS, PEOPLE!! <end of spoiler>

estrelinhaestrelinhaestrelinha e meia


Have you read Landline? 🙂

marta2twitterig

4 thoughts on “Landline by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Elle @ Perusing Pages says:

    I agree with you 100%. I’m a Rainbow Rowell super fan when it comes to the YA books, but I just can’t connect with the adult books (I attempted Attachments, but I couldn’t get past the first couple of chapters). I am a full grown adult, but I’m not married with kids so I can’t relate. I hope I wouldn’t even if I ever did get married. She’s just boring regardless.

    But I hadn’t read that spoiler about Fangirl! That’s so cute! I’m going to have to go back to Landline and find that scene. =)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I know right, I wouldn’t want to be like Georgie, her life wouldn’t be for me. I didn’t feel anything when I was reading about her. 😦 It seems most people also prefer her YA novels, so I’m glad I’m not the only one! I still wanna give Attachments a try, though, but maybe not anytime soon. The Fangirl spoiler was probably the best part of the book (even though I had already finished reading it when I found out haha).

      Like

Leave a Reply

